News, Reviews

Wilder Maker Announce New Album “Male Models” due 29th July via Western Vinyl & Share Single “Letter of Apology”

June 10, 2022
Photo credit: Ebru Yildiz


Announce new album Male Models
due 29th July via Western Vinyl

Brooklyn band Wilder Maker have today announced their new album Male Models, due for release on 29th July via Western Vinyl.

Featuring a dynamic roster of musicians that includes singer-songwriter Gabriel BirnbaumNick Jost and Sean Mullins as the core trio, Male Models also boasts guest lead vocal spots from Adam Duritz (Counting Crows)Katie Von SchleicherFelicia Douglass (Dirty Projectors, Ava Luna)Alex Schaaf (Yellow Ostrich)V.V. Lightbody, and Mutual Benefit.

Ask Gabriel Birnbaum what inspired Male Models and he’ll mention everything from American novelist James Salter and the NBA playoffs to Thin Lizzy and the delicate tightrope of positive masculinity. These reference points might sound arbitrary to the uninitiated listener, but together they provide some insight into the creation of an album that somehow succeeds at being both an apocalyptic novel of ideas and the most cohesive party playlist that you’ve ever heard.

A great example of Birnbaum’s distinct songwriting style can be found in the opening track ‘Letter of Apology’, which is shared today. Birnbaum sings: “Sorry that I told your sister’s boyfriend that he was history’s greatest monster. I got up on a chair and announced to the party that we were all living in a fiction.” Through an unreliable narrator, Birnbaum has set the stage, cracked a joke, and confessed a devastating existential crisis – in just two lines.

“‘Letter'” is a hooky pop song about apocalyptic depression.” says Birnbaum. “It’s been a part of the live set for years but it took us a while to get that manic edge it needs on record. I remember bringing a pile of songs I’d lost perspective on over to Katie’s apartment to see if they were any good, and as soon as we started singing the chorus on this one together it felt electric. She didn’t want to play the guitar solo at first, but we persuaded her eventually, and she kills it.”

Wilder Maker blasts through their enigmatic creation with this crisp and warm tonality, the tones and immersive hooks simply enthrall the audience. The rich textures and the charming vocal harmonies quickly and so clearly create this visceral landscape. The wealth of intricate rhythms and powerful percussive pushes all assist with the addictive qualities of this lasting composition, whilst the explosive energy keeps you fixated on this compelling journey.

After a series of self-releases and home recordings, Wilder Maker came to national attention via their Saddle Creek 7” New Streets in 2017 and subsequently released their label debut Zion with Northern Spy Records in 2018, receiving praise from Stereogum, Vice, Fader, and Pitchfork along the way. Male Models is a crystallisation of the more sprawling style of the 2018 LP, knocking the corners off the more extended songs and packing them into bite size forms that revolve heavily around the live studio performance and kinetic energy of the core trio of Birnbaum and longtime collaborators Nick Jost and Sean Mullins, who have been making music together for nearly a decade.

Male Models was recorded live over several days and despite his status as the frontman and principal songwriter of Wilder Maker, Birnbaum’s voice can only be heard singing lead on seven of the twelve songs. The remaining tracks have guest vocalists taking the mic, unveiling an impressive lineup that includes (but isn’t limited to) Counting Crows’ Adam Duritz, Katie Von Schleicher, and Jordan Lee (aka Mutual Benefit). Like guests at a strange afterparty, when you hear these accomplished vocalists recount Birnbaum’s tales of unrequited love, drunkenness, and desperation, it feels almost voyeuristic, as if you were sitting in a crowded cocktail bar, sneaking glances at nearby tables.

“We all listen to playlists a lot, even us album diehards” Birnbaum admits, “I’ve been keeping an ever-expanding playlist of songs that I never want to skip, with all of these different voices back to back. I wanted to make a record that sounded like a playlist in this way; it became a kind of songwriting challenge for me.”

Male Models succeeds in capturing the energy of a crowded party and its accompanying playlist without losing the philosophical underpinnings of its concept. Musically, it also changes shape constantly. Across the 12 songs of the album, listeners will hear electrified soul, heartfelt folk songs, indie rock, and searing barn burners, all of which are expertly tethered by Birnbaum’s sardonic and doom-laden storytelling.


1. Letter of Apology
2. A Professional ft. Felicia Douglass
3. New Anxiety ft. Mutual Benefit
4. Static ft. V.V. Lightbody
5. Surfers Trace ft. Yellow Ostrich
6. All Power Must Remain Hidden
7. Scam Likely
8. Silver Car ft. Katie Von Schleicher
9. 5 Train
10. O Anna ft. Adam Duritz
11. Against Numbers ft. Katie Von Schleicher
12. Jason


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.