News, Reviews

Cola Share New Single & Video “Fulton Park” – Debut Album Out This Friday via Fire Talk Records

May 18, 2022
Photo credit: Colin Medley



On Friday, the debut LP from ColaDeep In View, will be released on Fire Talk Records (Dehd, Bnny, Mandy, Indiana). The new project from former Ought members Tim Darcy and Ben Stidworthy and US Girls/The Weather Station drummer Evan Cartwright, the band’s debut has been one of the most anticipated releases of the year, earning praise from outlets like PitchforkUncutDIYNPRFADERStereogumSo YoungPasteClashNME and Rolling Stone who named the band an Artist You Need To Know and called their debut “one of the year’s most thrilling rock statements.

Today, Cola are sharing a final single from the LP, a track called ‘Fulton Park,’ and have spoken to FADER about their forthcoming album [read here]. 

Cola are days away from their debut record reaching so many. With the new single, they showcase this gripping composition, punchy, experimental, dynamic, and raucous. Blending unruly chaotic touches with more mesmeric passages. A trio with this rich chemistry and impressive workmanship. Their new album will capture their infectious energy and provide a collection of lasting releases.

Tim says of the track: “Ben and I had a flow writing this record where we would send each other demos every Friday.  It was a really motivating way to write, as I would spend the week working on something but then get the bonus of hearing what Ben had written when I sent him my track.  I heard Fulton Park and was immediately excited to work on vocals for it.  It’s such an interesting instrumental.  These lush almost psychedelic guitars in the intro and chorus are paired with this really stripped down almost honky tonk verse.  It conjured in my mind this kind of old west imagery.  I suppose looking back on the lyrics now, that same kind of juxtaposition is present.  Similar to Landers, it takes a look at the natural world and then the odd, magical, sometimes empty things that humans do on that landscape.”

Cola’s Deep In View will be released May 20th on Fire Talk Records. It is available for preorder here

1. Blank Curtain
2. So Excited
3. At Pace
4. Met Resistance
5. Degree
6. Water Table
7. Gossamer
8. Mint
9. Fulton Park
10. Landers

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.