News, Reviews

Circuit des Yeux Releases “Live From Chicago” Out Via Matador,  Featuring Songs From Latest Album “-io”

May 15, 2022

Circuit des Yeux Releases “Live From Chicago”

Featuring Songs From Latest Album “-io”Out Now via Matador

Last autumn, Circuit des Yeux (Haley Fohr) was invited to record a 4-song live session at Jamdek studio in Chicago. These recordings capture the music from her 2021 album ‘-io’ at the outset of its transition from studio to stage, including band arrangements of the compositions “Vanishing”, “Dogma”, “Sculpting the Exodus”, and “Stranger”. Fohr was joined on these performances by the musicians Whitney Johnson (Matchess), Andrew Scott Young, and Ashley Guerrero.
 
Now, Matador is releasing these four tracks digitally as ‘Live From Chicago’which you can stream or purchase HERE.

The atmosphere is crafted and instantly consuming. The bright percussive march leads the exploration into its crucial journey, backed by the whirling gritty loop adding this brooding layer into the complex atmosphere. The vocal notes join and dazzle, this buoyant and fierce range emerges through the harmonies on offer throughout the release and adds this intense influence into the brooding arrangement. Lyrically, this reflective piece engulfs the audience, visually bold and destined to leave this harrowing impact.

Circuit des Yeux continues to craft these mystical ensembles that showcase their sublime range as an artist, instantly created live with the most compelling attributes.

Circuit des Yeux will be on the road throughout the summer and autumn, bringing -io to audiences in North America, Europe, and the UK. Find the complete itinerary below.
 
In February, CdY released the brand new song and Rudy Rubio-directed video, “The Manatee (A Story of This World Pt. III”. Recorded during the sessions for -io, “The Manatee” is a shift in mood – serene astral folk sewn up with whirring aquatic interludes.
 
Out now, ­’-io’ is the sixth album and Matador Records debut by Circuit des Yeux (Haley Fohr). It is her most ornate and elaborate work to date – a set of compositions that nest the singer’s otherworldly four-octave voice amid a 24-piece string, brass, and wind ensemble. While Fohr’s music has never been short on ambition, these songs are striking in their brilliance and strangeness. On -io, Circuit des Yeux has delivered a work that is vivid, immense, and fully illuminated. 

Circuit des Yeux ­– Live in Chicago

1. Vanishing
2. Dogma
3. Sculpting the Exodus
4. Stranger

Haley Fohr: vocals, guitar, bass, piano.
Whitney Johnson: viola, violin.
Andrew Scott Young: bass, guitar, cello.
Ashley Guerrero : drums

Recorded at Jamdek in Chicago by Mark Yoshizumi with assistance from
Doug Malone and Reese Higgins.

These recordings first appeared as part of the series Music Is Everything! with Elia Einhorn
TOUR DATES
Thu. June 2 – Louisville, KY @ Decca
Fri. June 3 – Memphis, TN @ Crosstown Arts
Sat. June 4 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Sun. June 5 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Mon. June 6 ­– Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Tue. June 7 @ Green-Wood Cemetery (Pioneer Works)
Thu. June 9 – Brattleboro, VT @ Epsilon Spires
Fri. June 10 – Montreal, QC @ Centre PHI
Sat. June 11 – Ottawa, ON @ Arts Court
Mon. June 13 – Toronto, ON ­– 918 Bathurst – Wavelength Music Series
Tue. June 14 – Detroit, MI @ Trinosophes
Thu. June 16 – Chicago, IL @ Constellation
Fri. June 17 – Chicago, IL @ Constellation
Tue. August 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Wed. Aug 17 – San Francisco, CA @ The Lab
Wed. August 24 – Helsinki, FI @ Helsinki Festival
Sat. August 27 – Leiria, PT @ Extramuralhas Festival
Sun. August 28 @ Antwerpen, BE @ Whisper
Tue. August 30 – Birkenhead, UK @ Future Yard
Wed. August 31 ­– Edinburgh, UK @ Summerhall
Fri. September 2 – Larmer Tree Gardens, UK @ End of The Road Festival
Sat. September 3 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Psych Fest
Mon. September 5 – Dublin, IE @ National Concert Hall
Mon. October 3 – Stockholm, SE @ Slaktkyrkan
Tue. October 4 – Oslo, NO @ Bla
Wed. October 5 – Göteborg, SE @ FOLK
Thu. October 6 – Copenhagen, DK @ ALICE / Valby Kulturhus
Sat. October 8 – Prague, CZ @ Meetfactory
Mon. October 10 – Budapest, HU @ Turbina
Tue. October 11 – Vienna, AT @ Volkstheater
Wed. October 12 – Ljubljana @ Linhart Hall / Cankarjev dom
Thu. October 13 ­– Bologna, IT @ Freakout
Frid. October 14 – Grenoble, FR @ Le Ciel
Tue. October 18 – Madrid, ES @ Café Berlin
Wed. October 19 – Lisbon, PT @ Culturgest
Thu. October 20 ­– Braga, PT @ Gnration
Fri. October 21 – Espinho, PT @ Auditorio de Espinho

https://circuitdesyeux.com/


 

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.