News

The Goon Sax Share Cover Of Len’s ‘Steal My Sunsine’ As Part Of ‘Mirror II’ Digital Deluxe Edition- Out Now via Matador Records

April 22, 2022
Photo: James Caswell

THE GOON SAX RELEASE
‘MIRROR II’ 
DIGITAL DELUXE EDITION

FEATURES FOUR UNRELEASED SONGS INCLUDING A COVER OF LEN’S “STEAL MY SUNSHINE”

SUMMER UK DATES SUPPORTING SNAIL MAIL

 Brisbane trio The Goon Sax have released a deluxe digital edition of their third album and Matador Records debut, ‘Mirror II’.
 
Already more than perfect, the record returns to us newly refreshed with four unreleased songs, including two album outtakes, a demo of “In the Stone,” and a cover of Len’s 1999 top-ten hit, “Steal My Sunshine”.

This stunning cover will hook you, capturing this uplifting melody and movement from start to finish. Rich textures cascade throughout the plentiful instrumentation whilst the vocal notes deliver a true immersive influence.

The Goon Sax have also hit the road opening for Snail Mail on dates across the UK, Europe, and North America. The trio will also return to the US this fall to join Interpol and Spoon on their co-headlining “Lights, Camera, Factions” tour. Find the complete itinerary below.
 
Since forming in high school, Brisbane band The Goon Sax— the trio of Riley Jones, Louis Forster, and James Harrison, best friends who take turns writing, singing, and playing each instrument— have been celebrated for their kinetic homemade pop.
 
Mirror II is a new beginning: a multi-dimensional eclectic journey of musical craftsmanship that moves from disco to folk to no wave skronk with staggering cohesion. Gone are the first-person insecurities of their school days — they’ve been made expansive, more universal, and more weird.

Mirror II Digital Deluxe Edition Tracklist (bonus tracks in bold): 
1. In The Stone
2. Psychic
3. Tag
4. Temples
5. The Chance
6. Bath Water
7. Desire
8. Carpetry
9. Til Dawn
10. Caterpillars
11. We’re Just Talking
12. Spike Fence
13. In The Stone (Demo)
14. Steal My Sunshine
 
 
The Goon Sax On Tour 

Sat. Apr. 23 – Portland OR @ Wonder Ballroom ^
Sun. Apr. 24 – Oakland CA @ Fox Theater ^
Wed. Apr. 27 – Los Angeles CA @ Hollywood Palladium ^
Thur. Apr. 28 – San Diego CA @ The Observatory North Park ^
Fri. Apr. 29 – Mesa AZ @ The Nile ^
Sat. Apr. 30 – Santa Fe NM @ Meow Wolf ^
Mon. May 2 – Austin TX @ ACL Live at the Moody Theater ^
Tue. May 3 – Dallas TX @The Factory Studio ^
Thur. May 5 – Atlanta GA @ The Masquerade – Heaven Stage ^
Fri. May 6 – Asheville NC @ The Orange Peel ^
Sat. May 7 – Carrboro NC @ Cat’s Cradle ^
Sun. May 8 – Nashville TN @ Brooklyn Bowl – Nashville ^
Thur. June 2 – Melbourne, AUS @ Max Watt’s House of Music (Rising Melbourne)
Tue. June 7 – Hamburg, Germany @ Knust ^
Thur. June 9 – Gothenburg, Sweden @ Kulturhuset Oceanen ^
Sat. June 11 – Stockholm, Sweden @ Staktkyrkan ^
Mon. June 13 – Berlin, Germany @ Columbia Theater ^
Tue. June 14 – Dresden, Germany @ Groovestation ^
Wed. June 15 – Munich, Germany @ Ampere ^
Thur. June 16 – Milan, Italy @ Santeria Toscana 31 ^
Sat. June 18 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Bogen F ^
Sun. June 19 – Paris, France @ Le Trabendo ^
Tue. June 21 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso Noord ^
Thur. June 23 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Ritz Manchester ^
Fri. June 24 – Glasgow, UK @ Queen Margaret Union ^
Tue. June 28 – Bristol, UK @ Marble Factory ^
Wed. June 29 – London, UK @ O2 – Forum Kentish Town ^
Thur. June 30 – Brighton, UK @ O2 – Chalk ^
Wed. July 6 – Lyon, France @ Epicerie Moderne ^
Thu. Aug. 25 – Asbury Park, NJ @ Stone Pony Summer Stage %
Sat. Aug. 27 – Portland, ME @ Thompson’s Point %
Sun. Aug. 28 – Providence, RI @ Bold Point Pavilion %
Tue. Aug. 30 – Columbus, OH @ Kemba Live! Outdoors %
Thu. Sept. 1 – Cincinnati, OH @ Andrew J Brady Center %
Fri. Sept. 2 – Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern (w. INTERPOL ONLY)
Sat. Sept. 3 – Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit %
Sun. Sept. 4 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium (w. SPOON ONLY)
Tue. Sept. 6 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE Outdoors %
Thu. Sept. 8 – Indianapolis IN @ TCU Amphitheater at White River Park %
Fri. Sept. 9 – St. Louis MO @ Stifel Theatre %
Sat. Sept. 10 – Oklahoma City, OK @ The Criterion %
Tue. Sept. 13 – Las Vegas, NV @ Theater at Virgin Hotels Las Vegas %
Wed. Sept. 14 – Paso Robles, CA @ Vina Robles Amphitheatre %
Fri. Sept. 16 – Seattle, WA @ Paramount Theatre %
Sat. Sept. 17 – Portland, OR @ Pioneer Square %
Sun. Sept. 18 – Portland, OR @ Pioneer Square %
 
^ supporting Snail Mail
% supporting Interpol and Spoon

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.