News, Reviews

Ezra Furman Shares New Single “Book Of Our Names” – Out Now via Bella Union + Live Dates including UK Festival Appearances

April 5, 2022
Press shot, credit Buck Meek

Ezra Furman

Releases new single “Book Of Our Names”,
Out now on Bella Union

UK live dates inc. festival appearances

Ezra Furman releases a new single, “Book Of Our Names,” out now on Bella Union (and ANTI- in N. America). This song follows last month’s single, “Point Me Toward The Real,” Furman’s first solo release since 2019’s Twelve Nudes and her stint soundtracking Netflix’s hit show Sex Education.

Book Of Our Names” is sparse but deeply emotive, with Furman’s voice guiding through the pulsing guitars.

“This song is about what it feels like to live together under an empire that doesn’t value your lives,” Furman says. “I sing it as a Jew and as a trans woman, knowing well the stakes and consequences of being part of a hated population. But it is a protest song intended for use by any movement for collective survival and freedom. I noticed that the book of the Bible called Exodus in English, the one where the Hebrews escape slavery in Egypt, is called the Book of Names in Hebrew. And I started to think that the act of saying names out loud, of seeing individuals in their full irreplaceable uniqueness, holds the seed of true liberation.”

When you read the influence of the creation and embrace the strength of the vocal notes combined with the significance of the words, you will be left in awe. A deeply personal, powerful, and changing composition. A release that is so significant that it will alter the audiences’ mood. Ezra packs every part of emotion within the creation and her wealth of efficacious affection sculpts the premises of this harrowing journey. Compelling, raw, and touching.

Next month, Furman and her band – Ben Joseph (keyboards), Jordan Jordensen (bass), Sam Durkes (drums) – will embark on a North American and European tour, including stops in Los Angeles, Chicago, New York City, and more. Tickets are on sale now.

Ezra Furman Tour Dates:
  Thu. May 19 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom *

Sat. May 21 – San Francisco, CA @ August Hall *

Mon. May 23 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile *

Tue. May 24 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre *

Wed. May 25 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom *

Thu. May 26 – Boise, ID @ Visual Arts Collective *

Sat. May 28 – Denver, CO @ Gothic Theatre *

Mon. May 30 – Des Moines, IA @ Gas Lamp *

Tue. May 31 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line *

Wed. Jun. 1 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *

Thu. Jun. 9 – Somerville, MA @ Crystal Ballroom (Ezra Solo)

Thu. Jul. 21  – Valencia, ES @ Diversity Festival 

Sun. Jul. 24 – Hertfordshire, UK @ Standon Calling Festival

Sun. Aug. 14 – Des Moines, IA @ Val Air Ballroom ^

Tues. Aug. 16 – Milwaukee, WI @ UWM Panther Arena ^

Wed. Aug. 17 – Indianapolis, IN @ TCU Amphitheater at White River State Park ^

Sun. Aug. 21 – Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival

Tues. Aug  23 – Edinburgh, UK @ Edinburgh International Festival

Mon. Sep. 12 – Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rosa 

Tue. Sep. 13 – Toronto, ON @ Rec Room 

Wed. Sep. 14 – Detroit, MI @ The Loving Touch

Thu. Sep. 15 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr Small’s

Sun. Sep. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts

Mon. Sep. 19 – Providence, RI @ Fete Ballroom

Tue. Sep. 20 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair 

Wed. Sep. 21 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall 

Thu. Sep. 22 – Dover, DE @ Firefly Festival 

* w/ Grace Cummings

^ w/ Jack White

https://www.ezrafurman.com/

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.