Feature, News, Reviews

APRE Release “A001” Mixtape- Out Now

March 2, 2022
Photo Credit: Isy Townsend

APRE Release “A001” Mixtape- Out Now

London experimental duo APRE share acclaimed nine-track mixtape ‘A001’, out today (March 1st), alongside news of their own headline UK tour taking place later this year.

Detailing their new record, the two-piece explained: “Pulled together over just three weeks in early 2021, ‘A001’ is us resetting, going back to why we made music in the first place together. Having both gone through breakups and parting ways with our label, the only thing we both wanted to do was write together as basically a form of therapy. We locked ourselves in a room and wrote a very intense, but strangely optimistic body of work. It is so nice to have these songs as almost a diary of some of the lowest points in both our lives, but nice to see that we were at least optimistic to have these songs in our lives now! ‘A001’ is APRE at its core”.

The first soundbite leads the way for the impressive release. “All Mine” leads the way for this intoxicating collection of tracks showcasing the best of this duo. APRE builds this all-consuming atmosphere amongst each of their creations, with “All Mine” that atmosphere propels this elusive and intoxicating vibe. APRE  craft this pop-inspired anthem which at its core embraces this intimate essence, the lyrics, and compelling vocal notes which dazzle amongst the plethora of layers to this release, they bring this honesty to the ensemble which the audience can easily connect with. This raucous kick and desirable melody help push this release into new depths.

Next up “You” follows, positioned perfectly in this tracklisting. A slower, more consuming composition, embracing softer passages whilst still bringing this dazzling energy to the forefront of the ensemble. The addictive qualities leave this remarkable impression and once the ensemble ends, you find yourself needing to hit play and embracing every attribute once more. “Waste My Time” brings these sweeping textures into the midst of this intimate creation, intimacy exudes from the lyrics, capturing this raw message amongst the mighty synth tones and abundance of elements. Elsewhere the big hit “Feel It” gets the audience moving, APRE brings this upbeat influence into the center of their explosive orchestration. This immersive vibe hooks the audience and keeps them fixated on the journey of the new track. Bringing this wealth of experimental passages and buoyant tonality. Building layer upon layer of addictive claps, rolling rhythms, and this intoxicating vocal harmony. Ending on the mixtape closer “The Fall”, APRE  once again ties the cathartic, personal closer which showcases the outfit’s dynamic range. Amongst their mammoth crescendo APRE capture sensitiivy and this alluring melody.

APRE’s glittering ascent towards the top of the emerging indie landscape is certainly gathering pace, with widespread support from key indie press champions (The Sunday Times, NME, DIY, Dork, Clash, Gigwise, The Line Of Best Fit, Crack, Notion), alongside multiple spins on the BBC Radio 1 (Jack Saunders, Clara Amfo) and BBC 6 Music (Lauren Laverne, Tom Robinson) airwaves.

Live, a slew of impressive supports slots already ticked off with Sam Fender, Friendly Fires and Inhaler, preceded an acclaimed London residency at The Social, centred around an immersive experience of their nine-track mixtape, with a festival run and UK headline tour also lined up for later this year.

‘A001’ Tracklist
01 – A001
02 – All Mine
03 – You
04 – Waste My Time
05 – Your Eyes
06 – Feel It
07 – All People Remain Equal
08 – I Don’t Love You
09 – The Fall

APRE’s ‘A001’ mixtape is out now and available on all digital platforms.


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.