Feature, News, Reviews

Tempers Share New Single “Nightwalking” – New Album “New Meaning” out April 1st via DAIS

January 30, 2022
Photo credit: Zac Stone


Share new single “Nightwalking”
Album ‘New Meaning’ out April 1st via DAIS
London show announced

Tempers’ forthcoming album New Meaning is distinctly nocturnal music, elegantly introspective and quietly intense. The record is set for release April 1st via DAIS and the band are sharing their new single “Nightwalking” online now.

On the track, vocalist Jasmine Golestaneh said “I took a lot of long walks at a time when people had abruptly vacated NYC, and left the remnants of their homes on the sidewalks. The city’s landscape became very surreal – a ghost town turned inside out. I was thinking about how to stay open, and embrace life derailed. The sky over the city was a real source of mystery, in it’s own world of pink sunsets, and sparkling nights. The contrast of that oblivious beauty amidst the pandemic chaos felt very special, and inspired the song.”

Nightwalking” has this clear and dramatic atmosphere, this sincere ambiance immediately pulls the audience into the center of the fierce structure. The growing synth waves and the dual-vocals ooze such clarity and affection into this immersive ensemble. The ethereal vocal tones sweep through this arrangement and complement the surging melodies that emit into the soundscape.

This decadent array of desirable textures collides, once again Tempers showcase their immense power. The far-reaching vocal melodies consume the audience as they build cadence and shape the intoxicating vibe of this track. Moving, melodic, and deeply hypnotizing. The forthcoming new album will soon become a timeless record.

With their self-produced New Meaning, Tempers present an album about navigating the unknown, coping mechanisms and exploring the nature of choice. Its ten songs reflect on the creation of meaning as an access to liberation in times of transition and loss, speculating on the transformative potential that exists alongside the grief of living in a world that is in an ongoing state of crisis.

Throughout New Meaning, Golestaneh and Cooper’s production skews more evocatively greyscale, from new wave shadowplay to depressive disco to an elegy of hopeful resignation. The album’s themes are echoed in the evocative cover photo, Lost Hotel (2016) by Beijing-based photography artist Chen Wei.

New Meaning is a document of forking paths and fleeting transcendence, the celebration of instability and impermanence, of embracing “a constant state of becoming.” Ten anthems for a derailed age, fugitive and sympathetic, night walking through an “anguished city” towards a nameless future, poised for rebirth.

The album comes with a companion book of original artwork and lyrics. Golestaneh created a hand-made collage for each song, translating its sonic landscapes and lyrical themes into concrete images. The book is published by Old Habits Press.

New Meaning sees its release on April 1 via DAIS – pre-order here.

The duo plan to tour North America this spring ahead of a UK/EU summer run. Highlights include SXSW, LA, NYC, Chicago, Seattle and more. See below for a full list of dates.

14-Mar-22: Austin, TX – SXSW
31-Mar-22: New York City, NY – Elsewhere Zone 1
02-Apr-22:  Pittsburgh, PA – Andy Warhol Museum 
04-Apr-22: Detroit, MI – Sanctuary
06-Apr-22: Madison, WI – U. Wisconsin
07-Apr-22: Iowa City, IA  – Mission Creek Festival
10-Apr-22: Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
12-Apr-22: Toronto, ON – The Garrison
13-Apr-22: Montreal, QB – Ritz
16-Apr-22: Seattle, WA – Crocodile 2nd Stage
17-Apr-22: Portland, OR – Mississippi Studios
19-Apr-22: San Francisco, CA – Milk Bar
20-Apr-22: Los Angeles, CA – Zebulon
21-Apr-22: San Diego, CA – Whistle Stop
24-Apr-22: El Paso, TX – The Reagan
27-Apr-22: Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall
28-Apr-22: Austin, TX – Mohawk
13-May-22: London, UK – Moth Club
18-May-22: Paris, FR – Point Éphémère
03-Jun-22: Berlin, DE – Kantine am Berghain

Tempers are represented by Ouss Laghzaoui / Ensemble Concerts for North and South America, by Kalle Lundgren Smith / Pitch & Smith for EU/UK and the rest of the world.

New Meaning track list:
1. Nightwalking
2. Unfamiliar 
3. Multitudes
4. In And Out Of Hand
5. It Falls Into You
6. Secrets and Lies
7. Here Nor There
8. Song Behind A Wall
9. Carried Away
10. Sightseeing


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.