Tanya Tagaq Shares New Single “Teeth Agape” – ‘Tongues’ Album Release Brought Forward To January 21st on Six Shooter Records

January 17, 2022

Tanya Tagaq

Shares new single “Teeth Agape”
Tongues’ album release brought forward

  Out January 21st on Six Shooter Records

Never underestimate the power of the mothers, Tanya Tagaq warns with new song “Teeth Agape,” out now along with accompanying video animated by David Seitz. From forthcoming album Tongues’, produced by Saul Williams and co-produced by Gonjasufi, “Teeth Agape” makes two promises: to protect, and to attack.
Growling and gnashing over trancing pulses, Tagaq transforms into a creature all claws and teeth, ready to reckon with those who do harm. It’s the fight that comes from survival, snarls Tagaq.

Tanya Tagaq provides this intoxicating, intense journey, growing the ambiance with this cutting tone whilst the expressive lyrics just dominate the exploration. Fierce, unapologetic, and daring, this new track will consume you. The power grows as the journey flows, gaining momentum and dynamically altering the atmosphere for the final few bars.

“Teeth Agape” follows “Colonizer” and “Tongues,” in anticipation of the album release on January 21 via Six Shooter Records.

With the appearance of lyrics and spoken word throughout the new album, Tagaq is at her most explicit and specific. Her new album is a manual for inner and outer revolution. It is the soundtrack of righteous taking-back of personhood and power. It is a triumph of strength and intelligence that invites the listener to join her in a personal victory over colonization, over those who take without consent.

About Tanya Tagaq:
From Ikaluktutiak (Cambridge Bay, Nunavut), internationally celebrated artist Tanya Tagaq is an improvisational singer, avant-garde composer and bestselling author. A member of the Order of Canada, Polaris Music Prize and JUNO Award winner and recipient of multiple honorary doctorates, Tagaq is an original disruptor, a world-changing figure at the forefront of seismic social, political and environmental change.

‘Tongues’ will be released on January 21st 2022 via Six Shooter Records. Pre-order & streaming links here.

‘Tongues’ track list:
1. In Me
2. Tongues
3. Colonizer
4. Teeth Agape
5. Birth
6. I Forgive Me
7. Nuclear
8. Do Not Fear Love
9. Earth Monster
10. Colonizer (Tundra Mix)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.