Feature, News, Reviews

Junk Drawer Return With New Single/Video “Tears in Costa” & Announce New EP “The Dust Has Come To Stay” due March 11th 2022 via Art For Blind Records

January 27, 2022
credit Laura MacLennan

Junk Drawer

Return with new single/video “Tears in Costa”

Announce new EP  The Dust Has Come To Stay due March 11th 2022
Out via Art For Blind Records

Belfast-based art-rock four-piece, Junk Drawer are sharing their new single, “Tears in Costa” alongside announcing details of a new four-track EP titled The Dust Has Come To Stay which is out via Art For Blind Records on March 11, 2022.

The new single, which arrives alongside a tongue-in-cheek visual accompaniment directed by Graham Patterson, arrives as the first new material from the band since their tipped debut album, Ready For The House which found fans at The Quietus (landing in their 2020 AOTY list), Paste Magazine (Irish Acts to Watch 2020), Clash, The Line of Best Fit, KEXP, BBC Radio 1, 6Music and more. The band will support the new single with a string of UK dates including a stop at The Victoria, London.

An abrupt and abrasive hit of the drum kit and smashing rhythms before the melodic movement of the ensemble cascades over the immense atmosphere created. The addictive riffs and the expressive vocal harmony collide and provide this explosive chain reaction for the exploration. The audience pulled into the dynamic vocal notes offering up intimacy within the lyrics. The drum shuffles and cymbal hits are emphasized by the boisterous bass tone layering this dense course to the ensemble.

This new release is enthralling on every level, you’ll be hooked and obsessed from start to finish. “Tears In Costa” is a magical masterpiece with such a lasting impression, easily one of the strongest compositions we will encounter this year and then some. Truly powerful and captivating.

Recorded with Chris Ryan (Just Mustard, NewDad, Robocobra Quartet), “Tears in Costa” arrives as another thrilling installment of the Junk Drawer project, made up of four multi-instrumentalists: brothers, Stevie Lennox and Jake Lennox, Brian Coney and Rory Dee. Dancing around tightly-knit guitar lines while demonstrating the group’s ability to pen simmering pop melodies and Stevie’s knack for lyricism, the new single further mines the quartet’s sound that touches on Krautrock, post-punk and psychedelia, turning to their crate-digging sensibilities for inspiration: Deerhoof, The Cleaners From Venus, Spacemen 3, Ween, Richard Dawson and Television. It’s a sound that aims to create pocket symphonies that pull in different directions while never being afraid to make left turns or harness the band’s idiosyncrasies.

Speaking about the new single, Stevie Lennox of the band explains: “The title stems from a time when I found myself with tears streaming down my face due to a deadly concoction of myself (I get the odd extreme brain reaction from epilepsy) and the over-caffeination native to chain cafe, Costa (where our Rory has completely coincidentally just started working). The general gist of the song comes from the realisation that at any point, we can be flung back to ground zero with nothing but our experience behind us. And that’s tough, but it’s something that needs to be accepted, otherwise, you risk getting pulled down with that reset. The riff idea came from one day when and my partner were cleaning the house, listening to Omni. At the next practice, I presented the riff to the band. They all immediately knew what to do with it, and we more or less finished the song in an hour.

I personally owe a lot of the direction of the song, and my melodies lately, to the existence of Martin Newell of the Cleaners From Venus, the weird pop genius, whose music seems to synthesise memories of this idealised version of the 60s by way of the 80s, as though he’s taken it upon himself to invite other people to enjoy the same vibrant nostalgia he’s lived. It has an incredible ability to conjure memories that you’ve never lived, and I think that’s something I’ve become interested in trying to achieve lately.”

Following the self-released Their Self-Loathing Debut and EPs, the band, which has opened for Built To Spill, Mclusky and Jeffrey Lewis, spearheaded the grassroots Irish music community with their part in regular sell-out independent vinyl compilation A Litany of Failures. Following a pair of EPs, their single “Year of the Sofa” took Best Single at the NI Music Prize 2019, making Junk Drawer the first DIY band to take home a prize at the ceremony. Debut LP Ready For The House was released in April 2020 through Art For Blind Records.

Junk Drawer
The Dust Has Come To Stay
via Art For Blind Records
March 11, 2022

1. Tears in Costa
2. Railroad King
3. Suspended Anvil
4. Middle Places


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.