News, Reviews

Grace Cummings Shares New Single “Raglan” Ahead Of Album Release This Friday 14th January on ATO Records

January 11, 2022
credit Ian Laidlaw

Grace Cummings

Shares new single “Raglan”

Storm Queen out Friday 14th January on ATO Records

London headline show on 9th March + SXSW

Melbourne-based singer, songwriter, producer and accomplished stage actor Grace Cummings will release her self-produced second album entitled Storm Queen this week.

Before Friday, Cummings shares a final taste of the forthcoming record. “Raglan” is an homage to the street where Cummings’ rides her bike to visit her friends.

“Jesse Williams recorded this song in his tiny studio on Raglan Street on a freezing winter’s day. It was nice to all be crammed in there to play this live with everyone because it kept me so warm,” she explains. “This song really makes me smile, as a lot of memories came out of that place. So many parties ended at that studio with someone putting on Bob Dylan as the sun came up.”

“Raglan” exudes this sincerity, this immersive warmth, and ultimately shines like a classic. An artist that will captivate you and throw you into the midst of their emotional creations. Yet again Grace unveils such a riveting ensemble. Grace Cummings demands your full attention within all their creations.  Grace’s fierce vocal delivery and flawless dynamic vocal range will leave you in awe.

The forthcoming record will showcase the very best of this fearless artist and their undeniable energy.

Grace Cummings has also announced news of a London headline show on Wednesday9th March at St Matthias Church in Stoke Newington. Tickets are available here.

She is also confirmed to play SXSW in 2022.

True to its title, Storm Queen is a body of work with its own unruly climate, governed only by the visceral quality of Cummings’ spellbinding and devastating vocal presence, as heard on stage opening for the likes of Weyes Blood, Evan Dando, J Mascis and more.

With most songs captured within the first few takes and featuring unexpected flourishes by Cummings’ peers in Melbourne, the album showcases a vast and volatile emotional landscape from one of the most captivating folk artists to enter the scene in years.

Storm Queen will be released on January 14th on ATO Records, and follows Cummings’ understated debut album Refuge Cove, which was released in 2019 via King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard’s Flightless Records.

1. Heaven
2. Always New Days Always
3. Dreams
4. Up in Flames
5. Freak
6. Here is the Rose
7. Raglan
8. Two Little Birds
9. This Day in May
10. Storm Queen
11. Fly a Kite


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.