News, Reviews

Grace Cummings Shares Video for “Storm Queen”- The Title Track of Forthcoming Album out 14th January via ATO Records

December 17, 2021
Press shot, credit Ian Laidlaw 

Grace Cummings

Shares video for the title track of her forthcoming album

London headline show on 9th March + SXSW

New album Storm Queen out 14th January, 2022

Melbourne-based singer, songwriter, producer and accomplished stage actor Grace Cummings will release her self-produced second album entitled Storm Queen next month via ATO Records.

Now she shares the breathtaking title track off of the album, with an equally compelling music video that will make you feel as if you’re caught in Cummings’ storm. Listen to “Storm Queen” and watch the video below.

This song was the last one I wrote for the album, very quickly before recording,” Grace Cummings says of “Storm Queen.”The song is also my favourite track on the whole album. Harry Cooper on the baritone and Cahill Kelly on the piano helped me make the song I had in my head come to life. They trusted my gut, even when things were sounding a bit freaky and it was unclear if my vision for the song would come together. I wanted this track to be fucking raw, and ugly, and full of gunfire, and dirt, and ruin. And it turned out even bigger than I’d imagined.”

What a beautiful track, a riveting ensemble that reflects this raw tonality from the cutting rhythms and the personal, touching lyrics. Grace Cummings demands your full attention within all their creations.  Grace’s fierce vocal delivery and flawless dynamic vocal range will leave you in awe. A bittersweet and challenging track with this undeniable energy and fearless attitude, volatile yet versatile.

Grace Cummings has also announced news of a London headline show on Wednesday9th March at St Matthias Church in Stoke Newington. Tickets are available here.

She is also confirmed to play SXSW in 2022.

True to its title, Storm Queen is a body of work with its own unruly climate, governed only by the visceral quality of Cummings’ spellbinding and devastating vocal presence, as heard on stage opening for the likes of Weyes Blood, Evan Dando, J Mascis and more.

With most songs captured within the first few takes and featuring unexpected flourishes by Cummings’ peers in Melbourne, the album showcases a vast and volatile emotional landscape from one of the most captivating folk artists to enter the scene in years.

Storm Queen will be released on January 14th on ATO Records, and follows Cummings’ understated debut album Refuge Cove, which was released in 2019 via King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard’s Flightless Records.

1. Heaven
2. Always New Days Always
3. Dreams
4. Up in Flames
5. Freak
6. Here is the Rose
7. Raglan
8. Two Little Birds
9. This Day in May
10. Storm Queen
11. Fly a Kite


You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply 'Vous Avez Dit Bizarre' N°312 - New Music Videos | RVM [Radio.Video.Music] January 17, 2022 at 9:30 am

    […] >> Review >> More by the same : […]

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.