Feature, News, Reviews

Sally Shapiro Announce New Album “Sad Cities” due February 18th via Italians Do It Better & Share New Single & Video “Forget About You”

October 11, 2021


Announce new album ‘Sad Cities’ due Feb 18th via Italians Do It Better 
Share new single & video “Forget About You”

Elusive Swedish Italo disco/ synthpop duo Sally Shapiro, made up of Shapiro & producer Johan Agebjörn, are back with a new album ‘Sad Cities‘ set for release Feb 18th 2022 via Italians Do It Better. Now, the band are sharing their new single & video “Forget About You“. 

Hooked from that first synth note, Sally Shapiro craft the most mesmerizing arrangements and the new single is no different. The perfect combination of dreamy vocal harmonies and jagged synth textures colliding to provide this immersive ensemble flourishing throughout its expressive journey. The focus of the alluring ambiance starts to gain more power with the addition of extra tones, elements, and layers, whilst the lyrics add this personal and intimate touch to the sonic structure.

15 years ago, Sally Shapiro shared their first song online. Blogs & record labels immediately took notice and Italians Do It Better’s introduction to the pair was“I’ll Be By Your Side”, a shimmering Italo Disco track with ethereal vocals that hypnotised everyone who heard it. Johan’s elegant production was years ahead of what anyone else was doing at the time, & the elusive falsetto of the dreamlike singer was unforgettable.

In 2007, their debut album, Disco Romance, was revered by the press. The album was nominated as “Best Dance/Electronic Album of the Year” & was given a spot in Pitchfork’s Top 50 albums of 2007. Their sound was a unique take on the romantic club music of the mid 1980’s. At the time you could count the artists exploring this territory on one hand. Johnny Jewel began corresponding with Johan later that year resulting in Agebjörn’s remix of Glass Candy’s “The Chameleon“. The seminal After Dark compilation had come out that summer & the kindred spirits kept in touch.

Their debut album saw remixes by other likeminded producers like Lindstrøm, Tensnake, Junior Boys, CFCF, & Juan MacLean. In 2009, My Guilty Pleasure, picks up where Disco Romance left off. They collaborated with Electric Youth (known from the ”Drive” soundtrack) on their third album Somewhere Else in 2013.

Johan is a fixture on European dance floors collaborating with Lindstrøm, Glass Candy, Annie, Wolfram, Hercules & Love Affair, & more. In 2018 he produced the addictive Samantha Fox single “Hot Boy”. Sally is notoriously shy, remaining shrouded in anonymity. To this day she insists on recording her vocals alone in the studio & refuses to perform her songs live. In 2016, the duo went underground & released what was thought to have been their final single.

Working in deep seclusion over the last half decade, they record “Sad Cities”, an incredible collection out on February 18th 2022 via Italians Do It Better. A gorgeous bouquet of pure electronic bliss mixed by Johan Agebjörn & Johnny Jewel. The enigmatic duo re-surfaced from the underground with “Fading Away”, a first look at a new era, and now shares “Forget About You”, the latest installment from their new upcoming full length.

Sad Cities track list:
1. Forget About You
2. Believe In Me
3. Down This Road (Feat. Highway Superstar)
4. Sad City
5. Dulcinea
6. Falling Clouds
7. Love in Slow Motion (Feat. Electric Youth)
8. Million Ways
9. Tell Me How (Feat. Tommy ’86)
10. Christmas Escape
11. Fading Away


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.