News, Reviews

Lionlimb Share New Single & Video “Ultraviolet”- New Album due 12th November on Bayonet Records

October 12, 2021

Share New Single & Video

Album Spiral Groove out 12th November on Bayonet Records

Lionlimb – the project of Stewart Bronaugh – releases the new single, “Ultraviolet,” from his forthcoming album, Spiral Groove, out November 12th on Bayonet. It follows “Nothing” and the “immaculate and expansive” (Stereogum) “Loveland Pass.”

“This song is about those things you can’t see or hear but you know exist,” says Bronaugh. “It could be colors beyond our visual limits or the thoughts, dreams, and emotions of a stranger on the train. I think being an artist means to live in and explore that hidden world. Life wants us to stay on the surface. But if you can be still and relax your mind there is a whole other life that you can access at any time. The ‘ultraviolet light’ in this song is that other world.”

As the world shut down during the final stretch of the Spiral Groove mixing process, the downtime gave Bronaugh the opportunity to delve into design. Inspired by early animation techniques and handmade cinema, he was able to build out lyric videos with a lush but low-tech aesthetic, like the one for “Ultraviolet.” The lyric video reflects the track’s more melancholic qualities – a blend of lightly picked guitar and hushed vocals that sound like twilight. 

Bronaugh continues, “By layering images on top of each other I wanted to create a visual representation for this world within a world and the interconnected magic of everything. I also chose gouache watercolor because I think it best represents this feeling of being under the surface.”

What a truly moving ensemble, each track that Lionlimb has shared taken from the forthcoming album, each track showcases this true beauty. Delicate, emotionally charged vocal harmonies just sweep the audience up, immediately the audience finds themselves in the centre of this harrowing journey, embracing each note and each lyric and finding a connection between artist and individual. Lionlimb has created this complex and well-developed intricately layered ensemble.

Joyous melodies collide with this bed of mighty percussive elements, intensity building powerful keys and hook-filled vocal melodies. The atmosphere consumes you from the get-go.

Spiral Groove was born out of Bronaugh’s recovery from a neck surgery. Studded with stories of mortality, the challenges of addiction and sobriety, and the romance of a lifetime, Spiral Groove encapsulates all of our existential questions into tidy love songs. The name derives from a channel in the arm your nerves run through while simultaneously painting the picture of a needle dropping onto a vinyl LP. The album is a timeless, romantic collection of songs; piano, cello, slide guitar and buzzing synth lines wind in and out. Angel Olsen describes the “joyful urgency” in these songs – they are like a hopeful spell for life after the end of the world.

Pre-order Spiral Groove HERE

Spiral Groove Tracklist
1. Electric
2. Everyday
3. Gone
4. Here
5. Lifespan
6. Loveland Pass
7. Nothing
8. Real Life
9. Temporary
10. Ultraviolet

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.