Circuit Sweet Introducing, News, Reviews

Weakend Friends Announce New Album “Quitter” & Share Title Track

September 22, 2021
Photo by Adam Parshall 

Announce new album

Don Giovanni Records and Big Scary Monsters have announced the release of Quitter, the new full-length album from Portland, Maine indie-rock band WEAKENED FRIENDS. Following their acclaimed 2018 debut album Common BlahQuitter will be released on November 19, 2021 and is available for pre-order now.

The title track ‘Quitter’ is out now, across all streaming platforms and Bandcamp, as is an accompanying music video which you can watch below:

The new single showcases the mighty energy this outfit brings to their vision. A ferocious new ensemble with countless hooks and this insatiable energy. Blazing riffs start to emit into the mammoth soundscape, the vocal tones and harmonies add this infectious commitment to the ambiance. Weakened Friends have created this bold hit, fused with endless addictive qualities and this punk-inspired attitude. The new release has this ambitious deliverance and the sound is so mighty you’d be surprised this is the work of a trio and not an outfit double its size.

Weakened Friends dive into the honest truth of being a working musician on Quitter, reflecting on lost friendships and self-worth swallowed up by burnout. Songwriter, guitarist, and vocalist Sonia Sturino is supported by Annie Hoffman (bass/vocals) and Adam Hand (drums), filling out a mature and emotive sound. 
Central to the record thematically is the empty threat of quitting music and “getting a real job.” Sturino wrestles with her relationship with music on the title track, shouting “I love it, but it never really feels okay” over scorching guitars. Despite the implications of the title, quitting is not an option for the band.  Even as friends settle into adulthood, Weakened Friends find themselves trapped in a fortress of their own creation, inseparably attached to the eternal youthfulness of life in music. In this liminal zone, life passes by and friendships are weakened, and Quitter takes plenty of time to mourn these losses.

The album’s title track ‘Quitter’ is out now, as is a music video accompanying the song. The song embodies the album’s central theme of burnout in the music scene through chunky guitars and snarky vocals. As competition turns friends into rivals and pressure bears down on songwriter Sonia Sturino, she feels trapped by the time and effort she’s put into her life in music, despite the fact that “it never really feels okay”. This grungy number is equal parts personally introspective and broadly cathartic, resonating with a wide reach of emotions non-specific to Sturino’s individual experience.

Though the record acknowledges a perpetual state of arrested development that comes with being a musician, the band is anything but stagnant musically.  Opening themselves up to ideas outside the constraints of their slacker rock sound, Weakened Friends puts the full force of their creative ambition into Quitter. Inspired by watching peers go above and beyond what is expected of them, the band sought to explore each song’s fullest potential, with their most extensive pre-production and arrangement work to date. Incorporating banjo, pedal steel, horns, extensive synth arrangement and a number of non-instrumental sounds such as ovens and camera flashes, Weakened Friends expand on their universe of sounds on their new LP.

Quitter will be released on November 19, 2021. It is available for pre-order. The title track is available now across all streaming platforms and Bandcamp.

Quitter Tracklist:
1. Bargain Bin
2. Quitter
3. Everything Is Better
4. 25th
5. Tunnels
6. Planes
7. Spew
8. What You Like
9. Haunted House
10. The Last Ten
11. Point Of Interest

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.