Feature, News, Reviews

Thyla Announce Debut Album Due January 28th 2022 via Easy Life Records & Share Lead Single “Gum”

September 7, 2021
Thyla | Photo credit: Phoebe Fox 

Thyla announce debut album and share lead single “Gum”

Self-titled debut album is released on Jan 28th 2022 via Easy Life Records

Brighton trio Thyla are announcing their long-awaiting debut album. Self-titled, it will be released via Easy Life Records on Jan 28th, 2022. The band are also sharing the record’s lead single “Gum” which was given its premiere by Jack Saunders on BBC Radio 1 last night, who said: “They are sounding so confident, so strong – they feel like one of the best bands about for me at the moment. If Gum is anything to go by [the debut album] is going to be a huge statement piece to watch out for.”

 Thyla will also headline The Waiting Room, London, on 16th Feb 2022. Tickets are available here.

Thyla are a band that have regularly found their creative impulse heightened by a sense of heaviness and burden. Their music focusses on a journey that seems to be getting harder rather than easier, often highlighting struggles with how we attach identity and value to ourselves, and the sneaking feeling that the more we learn, the less we know.

In new single “Gum” there is a real feeling of the band willing themselves forward. In what is in fact the album’s opening lyric, singer Millie Duthie offers “I’ve been thinking about growing myself new skin”. It is a line that simultaneously seems to suggest that as that journey gets harder, their skin gets thicker, as well as a metaphor for finding freedom in shedding the negativity that can lurk beneath the surface of us all. “Gum” is a powerful opening statement that casts aside unconstructiveness and reels in positive engagement. She expands below:

“Gum is about shrugging the weight of the world off your shoulders – being stuck, knowing it, and choosing not to care. The world is weird; life is confusing. You’re not always going to get what you want, but let’s stop talking about it.”

One of the strongest anthems of 2021 without a doubt. Thyla’s fearless attitude emits from every passage of this engrossing ensemble. Fusing elements of post-punk with upbeat pop-rock, “Gum” covers this real nostalgic influence with this unpredictable drive.

“Gum” starts with these scratchy guitar riffs, before the intensity ramps up and makes way for the boisterous drum beats and sweeping synth tones to unite. The instrumentation continues to progress and manipulate the expressive atmosphere, the dreamy vocal harmonies emerge and instantly add this intimacy to a vast arrangement.

Hooked on those harmonies and the rhythmic deliverance, the experimental attributes continue to layer the soundscape and dazzle. Missed drum beats and a focus on this formidable shuffle instigates the transition of the structure, Thyla allows this unpredictable flow to their exploration to form this alluring addition. The crushing finale abruptly changes the course once more and showcases this outfit’s complex range. As always, Thyla’s latest single once more captures this creative force in their element, producing these magical movements rich with climactic build-ups and addictive qualities.

Gleaning inspiration from everyday human experience – and blurring the lines of the personal and the fictional – Thyla play as voyeurs and interpreters. Their music is a playground for the shared experience, a place for art that doesn’t preach, or claim to have all of the answers. Instead, their work exists as signposts to emotional moments in time, channeling the chaos of modernity into a sanctuary built from balance and nuance, influenced by the disparate worlds of everything from Kate Bush to My Bloody Valentine’s Kevin Shields.

On their debut album the band makes natural a step onward from their earlier EPs, working in a way that removed outside influence. In the same way that their process allowed them to make their own decisions, the resulting album is also about allowing others space to reach their own conclusions. It asks questions, rather than demands answers, and often zeroes in on the world’s polarized state, knowing when confrontation or walking away is the answer. It is also an album of internal monologues made real, punctuated with regular references to the Lewis Carroll tale Alice In Wonderland.

Pre-order the album here.

Thyla – Thyla album tracklisting:

1. Amber Waits
2. Breathe
3. 3
4. Flush
5. Gum
6. Echo For Ingrid
7. Kin
8. Imbude [Interlude]
9. Making My Way Through The Skyline
10. Dandelion
11. Rabbit Hole

​Thyla: Millie Duthie (vocals) | Dan Hole (bass) | Danny Southwell (drums)


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.