News, Reviews

Balthazar Announce ‘Sand Castle Tapes EP’ Out 24th September on Play It Again Sam

September 1, 2021
Press photo, credit Alexander Dhiet


Announce ‘Sand Castle Tapes EP’
Out 24th September on Play It Again Sam

After spending a few nights in a beautiful old castle near Brussels earlier in the year (following lockdown), Belgian art-poppers Balthazar returned from their stay with ‘Sand Castle Tapes‘, a documentary and live concert filmed by Heleen Declercq and co-produced with HolyShit sessions. 

Now, they announce the ‘Sand Castle Tapes’ EP will be released digitally on 24th September, featuring 10 songs from the film; 8 songs reworked from the album and two ‘jams’. Preorder here, and listen to “On A Roll” from the EP below, along with the performance of “Moment“…

Balthazar have captures this truly beaitiful release, the live film showcases this intimate influence that Balthazar excels within. The boundaries between artist and audience come down for this raw rendition. A profound creation from this imperative act, intimacy welcomes you into this delectable exploration from Balthazar.

Having been kept apart until this stay, the band came together for the first time to interpret the new songs within the castle walls. Declercq’s inquisitive eye captures the magical atmosphere – ‘Sand Castle Tapes’ is not just a filmed live show, but an intimate look at Balthazar as their music and story unfolds within the ancient castle walls.

The band say of the stay: “You only get to fully understand an album when you start playing it together, the relaxed circumstances lead to a whole other way of interpreting the songs than we would have for a live show. It’s refreshing, it’s very human.”



01. On A Roll
02. Powerless
03. Jam 1
04. Moment
05. You Won’t Come Around
06. Linger On
07. Jam 2
08. Losers
09. Halfway
10. I Want You

Led by Jinte Deprez and Maarten Devoldere who unite both on writing duties and as frontmen, Balthazar present new album, Sand, a soulful alt-pop embrace albeit less encumbered from the melancholic shackles of the past pursues this newfound road whilst providing the two writers and the band with their most cohesive album to date.

Highlighting the nuances of love, loss and life, Sand sees the writing duo of Devoldere and Deprez hitting new heights no more so than with the majestic On A Roll, glitchy undertones and sumptuous vocals propel this track to the fore but it’s one of many. The dexterity of Devoldere and Deprez distinctive vocals are a highlight on the lovelorn narrative of You Won’t Come Around, whilst the rapturous Linger On provides yet more pop bliss bookending the album comes the louche, jazz-tinged Powerless.

“There’s a theme running through these tracks, waiting, restlessness, not being able to live in the moment or putting your trust into the future” they explain. “We’re at a point in our lives when we have to consider these aspects of life, that’s why the album is called Sand – after the sand in an hourglass.”

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.