News, Reviews

A Place To Bury Strangers Announce “Hologram: Destroyed & Disassembled” a Record Store Day Black Friday Exclusive out 26th November on Dedstrange + Share Video For “Playing the Part”

September 17, 2021

A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS
ANNOUNCE ‘HOLOGRAM: DESTROYED AND DISASSEMBLED’

DUE OUT 26th NOVEMBER ON DEDSTRANGE RECORDS

AND SHARE ‘PLAYING THE PART’ VIDEO

NORTH AMERICAN + UK/EUROPEAN TOUR 2022

A Place To Bury Strangers announce ‘Hologram: Destroyed & Disassembled,’ a Record Store Day Black Friday exclusive out 26th November 26th on Dedstrange. Their Hologram EP is deconstructed and expanded into a 13-track album featuring mind-altering remixes by Daniel Fox of Girl Band, Penelope Isles, Do Nothing, BODEGA, Weeping Icon, Ganser, Grimoose, The Bodies Obtained, bandmates Ceremony East Coast plus Dedstrange label mates Jealous, Data Animal, Plattenbau, and Randy Randall of No Age. Vinyl will be available at your local record store on Black Friday. Visit www.recordstoreday.com for more details.  

They’re also sharing a new music video for ‘Playing the Part’ directed by Heather Bickford to celebrate the vinyl release of Hologram.

As noisy as they can be, there’s true prettiness in the APTBS sound. Sometimes it’s buried in the hypnotic mixes, and sometimes, it’s right there on the surface. ‘Playing The Part’ is one of the most winsome things the group has ever recorded — it’s got a glorious guitar tone, an active, melodic bass line, and a graceful vocal from Ackermann that could legitimately be called sweet. Director Heather Bickford has matched the song with a video that underscores its beauty, and its strangeness, too. Bickford, who also stars in the clip, shoots Ackermann in a historic house in Flagstaff, Arizona that looks like something out of a reverie: there’s antique wallpaper, stained glass windows, curio cabinets stuffed with bone china, landscape paintings in gilded frames, and velvet drapes over the bed. Microphone in hand, thoroughly bewitched, animated by the enchantment of his surroundings, Ackermann slips into a dream.  

Bickford elaborates: “‘Playing the Part’ was shot in Flagstaff, Arizona, on Oliver’s birthday, while Ollie and I were on a little getaway last November. He had actually proposed to me the day before while we were at Zion National Park so we were in a dream-like state of mind. Shot in a historic home, the vintage decor and wallpaper provided the perfect backdrop for the video.” 

A Place To Bury Strangers with ease, craft this hypnotic and intense atmosphere that simply engulfs the audience and keeps them fixated amongst the lo-fi vocal notes and jaunty surf-rock-like guitar experimentation. Using this triumphant force of fuzz, distortion, and this committed yet fearless energy, the ambiance begins to build into this mammoth and immersive experience. The renowned APTBS angular attributes dazzle throughout the soundscape they’ve perfected, once again the immersive tonality provided adds to the alluring attitude of this bold vision.

Continuing this month they’ll support Future Islands on select dates, and, in early 2022, the band will tour across North America before heading to Europe. Tickets for all dates are on sale now.  

A Place To Bury Strangers 2022 North American Tour Dates – Tickets on sale here 

Wed. September 15 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom $
Mon. October 11 – New Orleans, LA @ Civic Theatre *
Tue. October 12 – Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre *
Wed. October 13 – Raleigh, NC @ Ritz *
Thur. October 14 – Washington, DC @ Anthem *
Fri. October 29 – Austin, TX @ Levitation Festival
Tue. February 1 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s #
Wed. February 2 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz #
Fri. February 4 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace #
Sat. February 5 – Detroit, MI @ El Club #
Sun. February 6 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Mon. February 7 – Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club #
Tue. February 8 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave. 7th Street Entry #
Fri. February 11 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos %
Sat. February 12 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios %
Sun. February 13 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre %
Tue. February 15 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel %
Wed. February 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom %
Fri. February 18 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar %
Sat. February 19 – Tucson, AZ @ Hotel Congress %
Tue. February 22 – Denver, CO @  Larimer Lounge %
Wed. February 23 – Lawrence, KS @ The Bottleneck %
Fri. February 25 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt % 

* with Future Islands
$ with Maxband & Wah Together
# with Glove
% with TV Priest  

A Place To Bury Strangers 2022 European Tour Dates – Tickets on sale now 

Wed 09 March – Hafenklang – Hamburg, Germany  

Thu 10 March – Beatpol – Dresden, Germany

Fri 11 March – Klub Poglos – Warsaw, Poland

Sat 12 March – Futurum – Prague, Czech Republic

Sun 13 March – Randal Club – Bratislava, Slovakia

Mon 14 March – Durer Kert – Budapest, Hungary

Wed 16 March – Control Club – Bucharest, Romania

Thu 17 March – Mixtape5 – Sofia, Bulgaria

Fri 18 March – Eightball – Thessaloniki, Greece

Sat 19 March – Temple – Athens, Greece

Mon 21 March – 25th of May Hall – Skopje, Macedonia

Tue 22 March – Club Drugstore – Belgrade, Serbia

Thu 24 March – Mochvara – Zagreb, Croatia

Fri 25 March – Freakout Club – Bologna, Italy

Sat 26 March – Largo – Rome, Italy

Sun 27 March – Legend Club – Milan, Italy

Tue 29 March – Bogen F – Zurich, Switzeralnd

Wed 30 March – Backstage – Munich, Germany

Thu 31 March – Caves Du Memoir – Martigny, Switzeralnd

Fri 01 April – La Trabendo – Paris, France

Sat 02 April – Lafayette – London, UK

Mon 04 April – Kayka – Antwerp, Belgium

Tue 05 April – Gleis 22 – Munster, Germany

Wed 06 April – Melkweg – Amsterdam, Netherlands

Thu 07 April – Vera- Groningen, Netherlands

Sat 09 April – Hus 7 – Stockholm, Sweden

Sun 10 April – John Dee – Oslo, Norway

Mon 11 April – Pumpehuset – Copenhagen, Denmark

Tue 12 April Hole 44 – Berlin, Germany

Wed 13 April – MTC – Cologne, Germany

 BUY ‘HOLOGRAM’ EP HERE

www.instagram.com/aptbs

www.facebook.com/aplacetoburystrangers

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.