News, Reviews

The Ophelias Share New Single “Vapor” Taken From New Album “Crocus” out September 24th via Joyful Noise Recordings 

August 24, 2021
Photo credit: Madeleine Hordinski


Share new single “Vapor”
New album ‘Crocus‘ out Sept 24th via Joyful Noise Recordings 

With their new album ‘Crocus‘ due Sept 24th via Joyful Noise Recordings, Ohio four-piece The Ophelias are sharing their new single “Vapor“. 

Speaking about the new song, vocalist & guitarist Spencer Peppet said “2015 was the super blood moon. I was walking back to my dorm and saw it hanging above the park, framed between buildings. I pulled out my phone and wrote these lyrics down, staring up at the huge, ebullient red moon.

This was the first song I wrote on the banjo. I completed the first draft in a Vocal Composition class in college, with the banjo and a group of friends singing harmonies and bird noises. The album version of Vapor built off that experimentation. The strings in the end section use the parts originally sung by my classmates, and we fleshed it out with Jo’s bass part, piano, and building drums. An ambulance drove by while I was recording vocals — we kept it in. When I finally heard the end section in full, it felt like all the lights in the proverbial house turned on.”

This outfit has this undeniable, impressive energy and mighty pull to their work. “Vapor” commences with the distinguished strings resonating amongst the intricate atmosphere, shaping the expressive ambiance and welcoming the vocal harmonies to join the world.  

The Ophelias create the most moving ensembles. Based on an array of delicate yet simultaneously daring tones and textures, building and manipulating the valuable intensity and emotionally earth-shattering aura. Another intimate lyrical direction that pulls the audience and allows the listener to embrace the emotion of the words and the powerful harmonies. Tender, touching, and truly refreshing.

After 2018’s critically acclaimed Almost opened The Ophelias to a world beyond their Cincinnati home, the indie rock quartet craved a return to a sense of community. “It was surreal for this time capsule of events and feelings, songs written early in college, to be reviewed in outlets like the New York Times,” recalls vocalist/guitarist Spencer Peppet (she/her). The band members no longer lived in the same city—Peppet and new bassist/longtime music video collaborator Jo Shaffer (they/them) live in New York, while drummer Mic Adams (he/him) and violinist Andrea Gutmann Fuentes (she/her) remained in Ohio. In the time since Almost, a fair amount changed: the band members all graduated from college, Shaffer joined as the new bassist, and Adams came out as transgender and started HRT. So when it came time to record the candid, expansive Crocus (due September 24th via Joyful Noise Recordings), The Ophelias purposefully focused on the experimental, communal spirit that fueled their first record. Through songs equally infused with references to the Bible and The Twilight Zone, The Ophelias wring mystic emotion out of the spaces between their past, present, and future. 
Crocus retains the complexity of Almost, but revels in the newfound confidence bolstered by the growth and change the band has undergone. “Knowing that I was sharing this intimate side of myself with the world made me want to say exactly what I meant instead of relying on vague images,” Peppet muses. That candor shines on album highlight “Neil Young on High”, a track that finds Peppet’s firefly vocals backed by harmonies from Julien Baker. “I regret never celebrating/ Smaller victories that we saved/ I would do that part over,” Peppet sings, detailing the murky line between the things we mourn and the things we remember.
The Ophelias contrast that lyrical clarity with full arrangements, adding strings, horns, winds, and synths to their already robust compositions. But even on “The Twilight Zone”, which utilizes almost every sonic tool at their disposal, there is intimacy and community. The band reached out to a slew of talented musicians to help flesh out the record, from classically trained bassoonists to friends they’d known since grade school (and even in one case, the parent of a friend). “We are lucky to be surrounded by so many brilliant friends in our hometown— people whose musical sensibilities we really trust, and who also have a good feel for where we’re coming from stylistically in our music,” Gutmann Fuentes says. “It was exciting to invite them in on these songs and let them do their thing.”Through all of the collaborative whirl, the record keeps the four members of The Ophelias at its core and blossoms outwards with the help of their community. 
Diverse influences have led the Ophelias further from the staid indie-pop realm. “As a collective we cover a lot of musical ground, in that we individually listen to a wide range of music. Even between the four of us, we have our own distinct sensibilities that set us apart from one another,” Adams says. “There are differences in what the songs in Crocus mean to all of us, and we incorporate elements of ourselves and our own stylistic tendencies into each song. So Andrea might be reminded of a fiddle part from a ‘60s folk band at the same time Spencer is channeling Liz Phair.” 
The band recorded at night in a converted and “2000 percent haunted” Masonic lodge, which surely had an effect on the album’s ability to weave darker tones through the taut song structures. Engineer John Hoffman kept spirits high at The Lodge KY, ensuring the Ophelias had the freedom to experiment in the gray area between pain and rebirth. Despite The Lodge’s eerie nature, the ghosts remain personal, finding Peppet facing herself and her truth without blinking. The opening title track threads that needle deftly, simultaneously imagining a present where a past love aches as much as you do, and hoping for a future without remorse. Gutmann Fuentes’ violin mirrors the waves and crests of the song, underscoring the lyrics with layered and precise arrangements.
The Ophelias’ growth has been marked — so much has transformed and been rebuilt that the Ophelias feel like they’re eagerly reintroducing themselves to the world. “Crocus represents that state of flux, between dreaming and reality or internal reflection and external action,”  Peppet says. “I had to wring this all out of my chest, and doing that is very vulnerable. But being in a band with such a strong sense of community, trust, care, and love makes that process a lot easier.”

Crocus track list:
1. Crocus
2. Sacrificial Lamb
3. Neil Young on High (feat. Julien Baker)
4. Vapor
5. Spirit Sent
6. Biblical Names
7. Mastermind
8. Becoming A Nun
9. Spitting Image
10. Under Again
11. The Twilight Zone
12. Vices

Pre-order Crocus here:


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.