News, Reviews

Kevin Morby Announces “A Night At The Little Los Angeles” 4-track Demo Version of “Sundowner” out 8th October on Dead Oceans & Share New Demo Version of “Campfire”

August 19, 2021
photocredit: Lauren Withrow

Kevin Morby Announces “A Night At The Little Los Angeles” 4-track Demo Version of “Sundowner”, out 8th October on Dead Oceans

Shares 4-track Demo Version of “Campfire”

Kevin Morby announces A Night At The Little Los Angeles, a 4-track demo version of Sundowner, out October 8th on Dead Oceans, and presents “Campfire (4-Track Demo).

This new release precedes his North American tour with Hamilton Leithauser, which kicks off this October (tickets are on sale now).

This collection of songs was recorded at home in Morby’s back shed – aka “The Little Los Angeles” – during the summer and winter of 2017 and 2018, with a 4-track that documented the first sketches of Sundowner.  Morby elaborates: “When I later went into a proper studio to make what would become Sundowner, my goal was to capture the essence of these initial recordings, and here you will now have access to the very essence I was chasing.” 

A Night At The Little Los Angeles presents publicly for the first time Morby’s songwriting process. “Many of my favourite recordings have been made inside of an artist’s home with little to no regard of the outside world, but instead deep in their own that they are building in real time,” says Morby. “And with that – I’d like to invite you into my own little world here and now and ask you to please step inside and spend A Night At The Little Los Angeles.

The new version still captures that beauty that the original conveyed but with this demo, the analogue and raw elements shine and add this enhancement to the beauty available. An emotional, heartfelt ensemble offering this reflective lyrical influence and honest tones.

Sundowner is Morby’s “attempt to put the Middle American twilight —  its beauty profound, though not always immediate —  into sound.” Released in Autumn 2020, Morby’s distinctively conversational and reflective writing style was received with open arms and was beloved by fans and critics alike. Pitchfork lauded it as “a vision of the Midwest that feels mythical and enormous.” Sundowner’s vision was further fleshed out in comprehensive features in Vanity Fair, New York Magazine, Stereogum, The FADER, Vice, Aquarium Drunkard, and more. In addition to traditional music publications, Morby appeared on Adult Swim’s Fishcenter and Office Hours with Tim Heidecker. Morby also made his network television debut on CBS This Morning, where he performed the songs “Campfire” and “Sundowner” as part of a special joint performance with his partner and fellow songwriter Katie Crutchfield, aka Waxahatchee.

A Night At The Little Los Angeles tracklist:

1. Campfire (4-Track Demo)

2. Sundowner (4-Track Demo)

3. A Night At The Little Los Angeles (4-Track Demo)

4. Wander (4-Track Demo)

5. Velvet Highway (4-Track Demo)

6. Valley (4-Track Demo)

7. Brother, Sister (4-Track Demo)

8. Don’t Underestimate Midwest American Sun (4-Track Demo)

9. Provisions (4-Track Demo)

10. U.S. Mail (4-Track Demo)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.