Feature, News, Reviews

A Place To Bury Strangers Share New Video “In My Hive” + Announce North American/ EU/UK Tour Dates

August 4, 2021
Photo by Heather Bickford
 

A PLACE TO BURY STRANGERS
SHARE NEW VIDEO ‘IN MY HIVE’
NORTH AMERICAN TOUR 2022 ANNOUNCEDUK/EUROPEAN TOUR 2022

‘HOLOGRAM’ EP OUT NOW VIA DEDSTRANGE RECORDS

A Place To Bury Strangers announce a 2022 North American headline tour, and share the new video for single ‘In My Hive‘, from their new EP, Hologram, out now on Dedstrange. The new dates follow a headline show at Bowery Ballroom in New York City on September 15th, a run with Future Islands, and a stop at Levitation Festival in Austin, TX. Tickets for 2022 can be found below.

The ‘In My Hive‘ video, directed by and starring Manon Aulon Elphick, Niicolé and Dedstrange labelmates Data Animal, is a ghoulish grindhouse tale of revenge served raw. Filmed in gritty wide-angle closeups, this claustrophobic tale of murder, magic, and mayhem is a gothic five-finger-filet deathmatch for the senses. Preparing for a fight, pondering the potential in the sharpness of a knife, glazed over eyes, molten metal poured into the mouths of to-be zombie bandmates, overwhelming flashing lights, all seen through a close-up psychedelic lense.

“‘In My Hive’ is about how I’ve let myself get taken advantage of by other people because I just didn’t care at the time, but it definitely has come back to haunt me,” says the A Place To Bury Strangers’ Oliver Ackermann. “It can be tiring to deal with these emotions but it’s best to think about what is going on and work through it.”

In My Hive” starts with this initial melancholic dark ambiance, this blistering drum roll pounds into the center of the creation and abruptly moves the ensemble in its fierce direction. The sweeping yet moody vocals join the intense atmosphere and add this intimate aspect to the mammoth creation. The experimental elements which thrive amongst the transitions suddenly evolve to display the most crucial tones of this gritty ensemble.

This grueling intensity continues to simmer throughout the mighty release and overcomes this ardent projection whilst the focus of the complex soundscape that multiplies in size will keep the audience truly fixated on this colossal journey. Angular attributes dazzle if not providing something slightly atrocious in terms of the immersive tonality, yet this new vision is completely outstanding. It provides this ample arrangement that lets the power of this act thrive. A Place To Bury Strangers lure the audience into the dark ominous and hellish landscape they have built and the audience will have no choice but to embrace the weight of this release whilst fixated from start to finish.

In 2003, A Place To Bury Strangers emerged on the scene out of Ackermann’s psychotropic vision. The band is known for their vicious live performances overloaded with all-consuming visuals, experimental sonic warfare, and treacherous stage antics. 2021 welcomes a lineup change; Ackermann is joined by New members John Fedowitz (bass) and Sandra Fedowitz (drums) of Ceremony East Coast, cementing the most sensational version of the band to date. John and Oliver were childhood friends who had played in the legendary underground shoegaze band Skywave, crafting futuristic punk music together. This next phase is a sonic return to the band’s most raw and unhinged endeavors, pushed even further into a new chaotically apocalyptic incarnation. 

 A Place To Bury Strangers 2022 North American Tour Dates – Tickets on sale on Friday 6th August here 

Wed. September 15 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom $
Mon. October 11 – New Orleans, LA @ Civic Theatre *
Tue. October 12 – Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre *
Wed. October 13 – Raleigh, NC @ Ritz *
Thur. October 14 – Washington, DC @ Anthem *
Fri. October 29 – Austin, TX @ Levitation Festival
Tue. February 1 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s #
Wed. February 2 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz #
Fri. February 4 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace #
Sat. February 5 – Detroit, MI @ El Club #
Sun. February 6 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Mon. February 7 – Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club #
Tue. February 8 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave. 7th Street Entry #
Fri. February 11 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos %
Sat. February 12 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios %
Sun. February 13 – Vancouver, BC @ Rickshaw Theatre %
Tue. February 15 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel %
Wed. February 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom %
Fri. February 18 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar %
Sat. February 19 – Tucson, AZ @ Hotel Congress %
Tue. February 22 – Denver, CO @  Larimer Lounge %
Wed. February 23 – Lawrence, KS @ The Bottleneck %
Fri. February 25 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt % 

* with Future Islands
$ with Maxband & Wah Together
# with Glove
% with TV Priest  

A Place To Bury Strangers 2022 European Tour Dates – Tickets on sale now 

Wed 09 March – Hafenklang – Hamburg, Germany  

Thu 10 March – Beatpol – Dresden, Germany

Fri 11 March – Klub Poglos – Warsaw, Poland

Sat 12 March – Futurum – Prague, Czech Republic

Sun 13 March – Randal Club – Bratislava, Slovakia

Mon 14 March – Durer Kert – Budapest, Hungary

Wed 16 March – Control Club – Bucharest, Romania

Thu 17 March – Mixtape5 – Sofia, Bulgaria

Fri 18 March – Eightball – Thessaloniki, Greece

Sat 19 March – Temple – Athens, Greece

Mon 21 March – 25th of May Hall – Skopje, Macedonia

Tue 22 March – Club Drugstore – Belgrade, Serbia

Thu 24 March – Mochvara – Zagreb, Croatia

Fri 25 March – Freakout Club – Bologna, Italy

Sat 26 March – Largo – Rome, Italy

Sun 27 March – Legend Club – Milan, Italy

Tue 29 March – Bogen F – Zurich, Switzeralnd

Wed 30 March – Backstage – Munich, Germany

Thu 31 March – Caves Du Memoir – Martigny, Switzeralnd

Fri 01 April – La Trabendo – Paris, France

Sat 02 April – Lafayette – London, UK

Mon 04 April – Kayka – Antwerp, Belgium

Tue 05 April – Gleis 22 – Munster, Germany

Wed 06 April – Melkweg – Amsterdam, Netherlands

Thu 07 April – Vera- Groningen, Netherlands

Sat 09 April – Hus 7 – Stockholm, Sweden

Sun 10 April – John Dee – Oslo, Norway

Mon 11 April – Pumpehuset – Copenhagen, Denmark

Tue 12 April Hole 44 – Berlin, Germany

Wed 13 April – MTC – Cologne, Germany 

 BUY ‘HOLOGRAM’ EP HERE

www.instagram.com/aptbs

www.facebook.com/aplacetoburystrangers

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.