Steve Gunn Releases New Single ‘Fulton’, Taken From New Album “Other You” out August 27th on Matador

July 21, 2021


Steve Gunn has released new single ‘Fulton’, taken from his forthcoming new album Other You, released August 27 on Matador.

Gunn says of the song: “One night the air went dead on 1010 WINS, the local AM news station in NYC I find myself listening to from time to time. Everything stopped for a moment, or at least the radio signal did. The long silence came as a surprise, a gift.

“Fulton” brings such ambiance and affection to the audience. This immediately calming atmosphere washes over the audience and in turn alters their mood. Steve Gunn is back on full form, the innovative artist is teasing us some of the best work is due on the forthcoming album. Delicate textures and gentle guitar passages assist to the intoxicating atmosphere, this emotionally charged world gives off this vibe that momentarily takes the audience into the center of the creation. Embracing each vocal melody and the intimate lyrics. 

‘Fulton’ follows the songs ‘Other You’ and ‘Reflection’, which announced the new album in June.
In addition, Gunn has announced a three-night live residency at LA’s Gold Diggers ahead between September 9 and 11. The shows will be the first opportunity to watch Gunn performing songs from the new album with a full band, and will feature guests to be announced.

This week, Gunn will embark on a run of East Coast dates with William Tyler around their appearance on July 27 at Newport Folk Festival’s “Folk On” event.

Gunn has also been announced for a special performance at Vooruit’s theatre in Ghent on October 15th, playing a live score for director Stan Brakhage’s Visions In Meditation film series. Info and tickets are available HERE.

Other You was recorded during two visits to Los Angeles in late 2020 and early 2021, the album was made with veteran producer Rob Schnapf (Beck, Elliott Smith, Cass McCombs, Kurt Vile) at his Mant Studios alongside musician and longtime friend and collaborator Justin Tripp, whose credits include appearances on Gunn’s Time Off and Way Out Weather.

The relocation from his native Brooklyn was in a way more than geographical – the surroundings, warm climate and tight-knit studio team encouraged Gunn to tap into new approaches, techniques and emotional reservoirs, casting off established notions, habits and hangups. A featherlight touch coasts through the album – from the classical guitar and piano interplay and soulful baritone of the title track, nimble drum brush swing at the heart of ‘Fulton’ and ‘The Painter’, slow-burn kosmische rock of ‘Protection’, electric piano pulses and majestic tremolo stabs of ‘Reflection’, to the cascading harps of ‘Sugar Kiss’ – it is easily Gunn’s brightest and most life-affirming work to date. 

He is assisted by contributions come from friends and fellow artists including Julianna Barwick, Mary Lattimore, Bridget St. John, Jeff Parker, Bill MacKay, Ben Bertrand, drummer Ryan Sawyer (TV On The Radio, Thurston Moore, Gang Gang Dance), and others. 

Read an introduction to the album by American writer and novelist Rick Moody HERE.

Other You – Tracklisting:
1. Other You
2. Fulton
3. Morning River
4. Good Wind
5. Circuit Rider
6. On The Way
7. Protection
8. The Painter
9. Reflection
10. Sugar Kiss
11. Ever Feel That Way

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.