News, Reviews

Papur Wal Announce Debut Album “Amser Mynd Adra” (Time To Go Home) Due 8th October via Libertino Records + Share New Single “Llyn Llawenydd”

July 28, 2021
Photo credit: Sam Stevens 


Announce debut album
‘Amser Mynd Adra’ (Time To Go Home)

Due 8th October via Libertino Records

Cardiff slacker pop trio Papur Wal have announced their debut album Amser Mynd Adra (Time To Go Home), due 8th October via Libertino Records. To celebrate they have also shared the video for sauntering new summer single ‘Llyn Llawenydd’ (Lake Happiness).

Originally hailing from North Wales, the band fully formed in Cardiff in 2017 when Ianto (Vocals / Guitar), Gwion (Vocals / Bass) and Guto (Vocals / Drums) arrived as stowaways on the capital city’s streets. Driven to follow their creativity via their native language, Papur Wal combine fearless slacker influences and infectious power pop melodies into a beautifully raw musical mosaic.

With it’s melody like early 70s West Coast sunshine dancing on the water and beckoning you in, opening single ‘Llyn Llawenydd‘ is Crosby, Stills and Nash backed by a timeless Merseybeat rhythm. 

This perfect summer song was Gwion and Ianto’s first attempt at writing together, which they say is about a “place you can go with the people that matter, to get away from it all. It isn’t necessarily a lake, and the weather isn’t always perfect, but you’ll come home feeling better, thinking about it till you can go back again”.

The sparkling, lazy day video was shot by Jacob Hodges using an Elmo Super103t camera and edited by Shiwan Gwyn.

Amongst the gritty tone and driving beat, this bright exploration dazzles whilst this ardent energy becomes a fixation for the audience. Papur Wal craft this essential creation with this alluring melody and air of melancholy, their fierce delivery cuts through the grainy ambiance by that soundscape that accentuates the outfit’s countless crafty hooks within their music. Statement bass notes help push the musical boundaries of this enigmatic creation, the raucous and raw choral action from the multi-vocal harmonies bring this playful attribute to this punchy creation. When the vocals all unite the guitar takes focus on its personal and joyous interlude adding another complex layer to the fuzz-filled arrangement.

Papur Wal have always been enticingly unique. One part early Beatles, the other Lou Reed at his most power chord thrashing intensity, what ties their songs together under the harmonies and fuzz is an unflinching desire to wear their hearts proudly on their sleeves.

The band once described as ‘ELO in a car accident with Slint’ and lauded by BBC Radio 1 and BBC 6 Music started the journey towards Amser Mynd Adra at the beginning of 2020. The release of the singles ‘Meddwl am Hi’ and ‘Piper Malibu’ in quick succession introduced Papur Wal as purveyors of perfectly crafted three-minute, golden pop.

With the trusted support of their long time producer Kris Jenkins (Super Furry Animals, Cate Le Bon, H Hawkline) on the desk Papur Wal have crafted an emotive coming of age album. As with Neil Young’s ‘After The Gold Rush’ Amser Mynd Adra discusses maturing into the seemingly bleaker period of mid-20s adult life, away from the carefree abundance of young adulthood. As Ianto explains “moving out from living with friends into the rest of your life, the fear of missing out, the every day existential crisis, the guilt that comes with not knowing what to do next, separation anxiety and a new way of living your life that makes it all the more difficult to go back to do what you used to do”.

The tracks ‘Rhwng Dau Feddwl’, ‘Arthur’ and ‘Meddwl am Hi’ open the album in a flurry of unforgettable melodies and perfectly displays the dichotomy at play within Papur Wal’s debut. It’s these contrasting desires to embrace the future with all its uncertainties yet at the same time still hankering for the carefree horizons of youth that brings a strong and relatable narrative ark to Amser Mynd Adra.

‘Meddwl am Hi’ with its Big Star chord play was the first song that the band wrote that marked their transition from 90s alternative / art rock to a more 70s-pop-inspired songwriting and arrangements. It established a poppy and melodic back to basics style that is evident on ‘Brychni Haul’ with its early Beatles wistfulness recalling and embracing the good time.

‘Andrea a Fi’ refers to Ianto losing his belongings on holiday in Italy, and finding them the next day with his notebook full of short Italian poems written by an unknown passer-by. “I translated his poem to Welsh and English and it’s pretty deep and beautiful“. The album is full of these accidental moments that become beacons of connection, new joyful memories that carry you above the dark clouds.

Amser Mynd Adra is an album that you will go back to time and time again. Be it for ‘Arthur’’s captivating melodic hooks, ‘Haul Chwefror’ chamber pop, ‘Penblwydd Hapus’ infectious throwaway charm or ‘Nôl ac yn ôl ac yn ôl’ universal theme of loss of time and loved ones exasperated by the last 18 months of worry and uncertainty.


1. Rhwng Dau Feddwl (In Two Minds)
2. Arthur
3. Meddwl am Hi (Thinking About Her)
4. Andrea a Fi (Andrea and I)
5. Haul Chwefror (February Sun)
6. Brychni Haul (Freckles)
7. Penblwydd Hapus (Happy Birthday)
8. Llyn Llawenydd (Lake Happiness)
9. Nôl ac yn ôl ac yn ôl (Backwards and Backwards and Backwards)
10. Anifeiliaid Anwes (Fi Efo Hi) (Pets)


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.