News, Reviews

Alexis Marshall Releases New Song and Video “Open Mouth” Directed by John Bradburn – Taken From Forthcoming Album Due July 23rd via Sargent House

July 1, 2021
Photo Credit: George Clarke

Alexis Marshall Releases New Song and Video “Open Mouth”

Taken From Forthcoming Album Due July 23rd via Sargent House

Poet, artist, and Daughters vocalist Alexis Marshall has his solo debut on the way, and here is a new song and visual from it. “Open Mouth” is a song devoid of decoration or sheen; an echoic display of experimental arrangement and poetic stream of consciousness lyrics. The accompanying video, directed by UK-based John Bradburn and starring up-and-coming actor Charlie Greenwood, features beautiful yet stirring art house cinematography as Greenwood emotively performs Marshall’s lyrics. The song follows the previously released “Hounds in the Abyss”; watch the video below:

The whaling protruding feedback and hellish drum rolls commence the initial ominous and uneasy ambiance. Alexis’s vocal notes and intense lyrical path enter the chilling atmosphere and add this emotional upheaval to the journey. The repetitive vocal melodies contribute to the ever-growing anxiety-ridden expressive exploration. Alexis provides this immersive and anguished experience, the dark compositions created provide this dark world that pull you in and presents this visionary passage. . Alexis builds and builds this critical ambiance fused with this burning temperament and ominous affection, the lyrics feel intimate, personal, reflective, and startling. These personal insecurities and unsettling words capturing this sincere pain and delirium before breaking out into this fierce composition Tensions resonate through the structure, the passages, and the fierce drum rhythms. Once again another raw and intense story presented with the most explosive execution. 

Available July 23rd via Sargent House, House Of Lull . House Of When is an album crafted around moments of spontaneity and sonic detritus. Produced by Seth Manchester in Pawtucket, Rhode Island at Machines with Magnets, Marshall brought together an impressive group of collaborators to execute his vision in Jon Syverson (Daughters) and Evan Patterson (Jaye Jayle, Young Widows). With no material solidified prior to their arrival, the strategy was to embrace new sounds, employ the element of chance, and capture the creative process in a song format. The genesis of a song could be anything—a fragmented piano line, a drum pattern—but the impetus was often a non-musical sound. Marshall sourced a lot of his textural contributions from a hardware store all contributing to a proto-industrial rattle-and-rumble reminiscent of early Einstürzende Neubauten. The resulting material stands to be the boldest and exciting work of his career.

House Of Lull . House Of When Tracklisting

01. Drink From The Oceans. Nothing Can Harm You
02. Hounds In The Abyss
03. It Just Doesn’t Feel Good Anymore
04. Youth As Religion .
05. Religion As Leader
06. No Truth In The Body
07. Open Mouth
08. They Can Lie There Forever
09. Night Coming

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.