News, Reviews

Wild Pink Share New Track “Ohio” Feat. Samia + Announce New EP 3 Songs due June 25th via Royal Mountain Records

May 12, 2021
Mitchell Wojcik

Wild Pink Share New Track “Ohio” Feat. Samia

Announce New EP 3 Songs 

Out June 25th via Royal Mountain Records

Share KEXP Live At Home Session

Hot on the heels of releasing one of the years most critically revered albums in A Billion Little Lights back in February, Wild Pink are now sharing their new single, “Ohio“. Teaming up with Samia, it is the first track from the band’s new EP 3 Songs, out June 25th on Royal Mountain Records, and follows last month’s 6 Cover Songs.

Ohio is such a beautiful composition. This rich yet organic texture found in the immersive structure pulls you in before the ethereal vocal collaboration becomes the emotional catalyst for this stirring ensemble. The hypnotising motion draws your attention and keeps it fixated on the soft and serene rhythm. There’s a real natural essence emitting from this creation, we find ourselves calm and at peace whilst the innovative arrangement surrounds us.

Lush and expansive, Samia’s and Wild Pink vocalist John Ross’ intertwining vocals sit atop a stirring and beautiful sonic backdrop as Ross ruminates on the small moments of calm and glimpses of peace that occur when you take a second to breathe. On the track, Ross explains: “This song is about feeling isolated but then the relief that comes from seeing family/friends. It’s about getting some comfort from some of the mundane things I took for granted growing up, like daily summer storms and the hum from an oscillating fan at night. I wrote a lot of it during soundchecks on a tour with Adam Torres in 2018.

A Billion Little Lights was released back in February to widespread acclaim, with Stereogum declaring it as “one of the most exquisitely pretty rock albums in recent memory” while Ny Mag/Vulture declared it “2021’s best rock album,” alongside praise from outlets like NPRNew York MagazinePitchforkThe AV ClubUproxxPasteMTVFADERConsequenceBrooklynVegan and many more. The follow up 6 Cover Songs saw admiration from both Billboard and the r/indieheads community, as well as landing Ross a KEXP Live At Home Session, which is out now to coincide with the release of “Ohio”. 

Wild Pink’s 3 Songs is out on June 25th via Royal Mountain Records. It is available here.

1. Ohio Feat. Samia
2. Leferever
3. A Scene From The Eau Gallie Causeway

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.