Feature, News, Reviews

SPELLLING Shares New Single “Boys At School” From Forthcoming Album ‘The Turning Wheel’ Out June 25 on Sacred Bones

May 11, 2021
Photo credit: Erik Bender


Shares new single “Boys At School”
The icy opening track from the “Below” section of new record
Album ‘The Turning Wheel’out June 25th on Sacred Bones

SPELLLING, the project of Bay Area-based artist Chrystia Cabral, presents a second single, from ‘The Turning Wheel’, the new album out June 25th on Sacred Bones.

‘The Turning Wheel’ is split into two halves — “Above” and “Below.” Lush string quartet shimmer combines with haunting banjo and wandering bassoon leads, as the album progresses from the more jubilant, warm, and dreamy mood of the “Above” tracks to the more chilling tone of the “Below” tracks. This progression is anchored by SPELLLING’s vocal style that emphasizes the theatrical and folkloric heart of her songwriting.

Following recent Frida Kahlo-inspired single “Little Deer” which opens the “above” section of the record, today SPELLLING shares a glimpse at the “below” with “Boys At School” – an evocative and magnetic 7-minute ballad that sees Cabral “step back into my younger self, my teenage self to voice my angst, desires and disillusionments.” She continues: “I knew when I created the main motif on the piano that it was striking something really raw and both delicate and fierce. The notes just immediately transported me to the era of my youth, of this time when you are really beginning to confront the mirror of yourself to the outside world.”

SPELLLING shares their diverse range throughout their new single “Boys At School”, once again another intense exploration that will captivate you. With unpredictable shifts and immersive hooks, SPELLLING is spell-binding. There’s such a theatrical atmosphere resonating in the vocal tone and captured within the building instrumentation that tailors the ambiance. The vocal melodies lead this dramatic energy throughout its performance and the complex rhythmic flow becomes this hypnotic quality.

The Turning Wheel’ is the follow-up to 2019’s ‘Mazy Fly’, and revolves around themes of human unity, the future, divine love and the enigmatic ups and downs of being a part of this carnival called life. SPELLLING took on the ambitious task of orchestrating and self-producing an album that features an ensemble of 31 collaborating musicians. The resulting album incorporates a vast range of rich acoustic sounds that casts her work into vibrant new dimensions. 

‘The Turning Wheel’ had an original release date of September 2020, but the forced pause ended up serving as a blessing in disguise. Navigating the chaos of recording and producing the remaining instrumentalists – either remotely or through rigid socially distanced studio sessions – was immensely difficult, however the delays ultimately opened up the opportunity for SPELLLING to dedicate more attention to her lyrics. ‘The Turning Wheel’ demonstrates a distinct evolution of lyrical style, from the more incantatory and abbreviated approach of her previous work to a more expansive, narrative production. 

A manifestation of this considerable effort, time, and collaborative energy, ‘The Turning Wheel’ will surely become a classic for its elegance. And while the artist’s eclectic influences, from soul to psych to pop to noise, remain present, something entirely new has also been born in the cosmic soup of this massive undertaking: a grand and genre-less adventure. One that allows the artist’s authenticity to shine and also marks her as a conduit for something with a magic of its own. 

‘The Turning Wheel’ will be released on June 25thvia Sacred Bones. Pre-order links can be found here.

‘The Turning Wheel’ tracklist:
01. Little Deer
02. Always
03. Turning Wheel
04. The Future
05. Awaken
06. Emperor with an Egg
07. Boys at School
08. Legacy
09. Queen of Wands
10. Magic Act
11. Revolution
12. Sweet Talk


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.