News, Reviews

Max Bloom Shares New Single “Palindromes”- Taken From Forthcoming Album “Pedestrian” out June 18th on Ultimate Blends

May 16, 2021
Bex Day


Shares new single “Palindromes”
– Album ‘Pedestrian’ out June 18th on Ultimate Blends
– London show on July 2nd

Max Bloom (previously of Yuck) has shared a second single from his forthcoming solo record ‘Pedestrian’, which is set for release on June 18 through Bloom’s own new label, Ultimate Blends. He will also be playing a socially-distanced show at London’s Oslo on July 2nd.

“Palindromes” is a wistful, understated love song. Bloom explains: “This song is about how I got together with my girlfriend Anna, who also plays bass in my live band (and co-wrote two songs on the album). We were best friends for years, then she broke up with her boyfriend and we got together quite suddenly. It was completely unplanned, but when it happened it felt like a lucid dream. I wanted to write something to commemorate it (Anna has also written a few songs about it too), and after the darkness and grief of Perfume, it felt cathartic for me to write this song.”

Max Bloom understands the importance of sincerity, and this runs throughout their latest composition. A fierce rhythm keeps the power at the forefront of the release as this arrangement opens up to showcase Bloom’s dynamic vocal range and the ability to build a budding arrangement filled with countless hooks and infectious energy. When the dreamy vocal emerges into the intoxicating atmosphere, another compelling angle to this immersive creation. The exploration fuses the fierce tone and focuses on the softer, somewhat calming vocal harmonies from Bloom, whilst these rich textures from the guitar tone mix with the shimmering effects and bright drum shuffles and beats.

As the release has this hypnotic notion and heads towards the finale, the intensity surges, and the bold breakdowns emerge, the energy is enthralling, and “Palindromes” becomes one hell of a memorable journey.

The album ‘Pedestrian’ takes its listener into the outside world. And it was here, wandering the city streets and parks against the surreal backdrop of the last twelve months, that Bloom discovered his inspiration for this latest collection of songs. He found himself observing his surroundings and people’s behaviour in a new light. 

Over the months, a regular cast of companions (namely Spoon, Beck, and Yellow Magic Orchestra) accompanied Bloom on his increasingly lengthy runs. These references, alongside core influences like Wilco, George Harrison, and Grandaddy, helped bring a fresh pallet of sonic colours and textures to ‘Pedestrian’.

‘Pedestrian’ is the first release on Bloom’s new label, Ultimate Blends, which will be a home to all of his future projects and productions. Bloom has also designed individual artworks for every song on this album, and animations for its forthcoming singles. He also hosts podcast JEW-ISH, a series of one-to-one interviews with Jews from a range of different cultures and backgrounds, aiming to show the nuance that exists within the Jewish world. Listen here.

‘Pedestrian’ will be released on June 18th via Ultimate Blends.
Max Bloom will play Oslo in London on July 2nd. Ticket info here.

‘Pedestrian’ track list:
1. Pedestrian
2. Palindromes
3. All The Same
4. America
5. The Weatherman
6. Imposter Syndrome
7. Under Green Skies
8. How Can I Love You
9. Twenty-Two
10. Cat On Your Lap


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.