News, Reviews

Molchat Doma Share New Video For “Otveta Net” – Album ‘Monument’ Out Now on Sacred Bones

April 8, 2021
Photo credit: Dzmitry Kuzhalkov


Share new video for “Otveta Net”
Album ‘Monument’ out now on Sacred Bones

Following the recent release of their new album ‘Monument’ through Sacred Bones, Belarus-based trio Molchat Doma have shared a new video for track “Otveta Net”, taken from their most recent album ‘Monument’, which was released last year on Sacred Bones. 
Translating as “There is no answer”, the track encapsulates their romantic, Russian-language dark disco. Speaking on the accompanying video, directed by Ira Rokka, the band comment: “For us, this was the first experience of remote work on a video. In addition to the story that was filmed in Moscow, there was also the filming of the band in Minsk, but the filming process was completely controlled and managed online from Moscow and Berlin. It was unusual. Respect for such an approach. And most importantly, we liked the result, the video turned out to be very correct in mood. There is longing and melancholy in it, but there is no darkness.”

Their renowned sound floods this intense creation. Molchat Doma dominates their ability to create expansive brooding dark waves of powerful bleak synth-pop, clear from the first note of “Otveta Net”. The outfit builds this bed of immersive layers which form the essential structure for this single. The mighty disco beat emits the key hook to this ensemble fusing with the jarring angular tones and adding their commanding deep vocals, the aura pulls you in. This outfit understands the importance of a hypnotic arrangement, the aura that commands your attention becomes this comforting destination that you ultimately want to remain within.

The act effortlessly craft one hellish disco beat takes immediate focus to these boisterous yet charming arrangements from Molchat Doma. This band brings big disco beats and momentum and collides this with harsher elements they convey and the end result is fierce and addictive.

‘Monument’ is a fitting title for the third album by Belarusian trio Molchat Doma. Indeed, it stands as a monument to everything they’ve achieved in their short time as a band, from whispered-about unknowns, to enigmatic underground icons, to legitimate viral sensations with hundreds of thousands of TikTok videos using their music. 
Molchat Doma (translated as “Houses Are Silent”), founded in 2017 in Minsk, stand at the intersection of post-punk, new-wave and synth-pop. Dark, yet danceable. The band is comprised of Egor Shkutko, who sings the Russian lyrics in his deep, thundering tones, Roman Komogortsev on guitar, synths, and drum machine, and Pavel Kozlov on bass and synths. 
Written and recorded while the band was quarantined in their hometown of Minsk during the COVID-19 pandemic, ‘Monument’ is a conscious step up in songwriting and fidelity, and it reveals a band preternaturally comfortable in its own skin. Their greatest strength has always been their songwriting, and three albums in, they have truly honed their craft. With ‘Monument’, Molchat Doma have done one of the hardest things to do as a band. They’ve greatly expanded the scope of their music while retaining everything that made them great in the first place. ‘Monument’ is a marker of what promises to be a truly pivotal moment in their career.
‘Monument’ tracklist:
1. Utonut
2. Obrechen
3. Discoteque
4. Ne Smeshno
5. Otveta Net
6. Zvezdy
7. Udalil Tvoy Nomer
8. Leningradskiy Blues
9. Lubit ‘i Vypolnyat’

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.