News, Reviews

YA TSEEN Shares Video For “Knives” feat. Portugal. The Man’s John Baldwin Gourley

March 11, 2021
Ya Tseen photo credit Christian Peteresen

Share the official video for “Knives” feat. Portugal. The Man’s John Baldwin Gourley

Watch/Stream “Knives” – HERE

Indian Yard will be available worldwide on April 30th 2021

As previously announced, on April 30th 2021, Sub Pop will release Indian Yard, the debut record from Sitka, Alaska project Ya Tseen

Indian Yard is an intense illumination of feeling and interconnectedness. Following the group’s debut offering, “Close the Distance”, comes the new single and stop-motion animated official video for “Knives.” Directed by Carlos Cruz at Dos Dios productions, the song features guest vocals from Portugal. The Man frontman, John Baldwin Gourley. As described by the group’s frontman, Nicholas Galanin, ““Knives” is a love song about softening a calloused heart and experiencing the edge of magnetic desire, romantic connection, vulnerability, and risk that love opens us up to.”

“Knives” runs this exploratory course captivating your full attention throughout. The ensemble meanders through such rich textures, these impressive bursts of vocal harmonies reach out and lift the audience, soaring amongst the bed of fierce percussive beats, striding this ambitious deliverance against the gritty bass end and sharp noodles. Once again Ya Tseen embraces this sincere rhythmic explosion amongst this intoxicating atmosphere.

Indian Yard is now available for preorder on CD/LP through Sub Pop. Preorders through, select independent retailers in North America, the U.K., and Europe will receive the standard LP on black vinyl.

There will also be a North American deluxe edition on clear vinyl available for preorder in the coming weeks. The deluxe packaging will include a 24-page hardcover LP-sized book with covers featuring a sci-fi landscape populated by a toddler-wearing artist Merritt Johnson’s sculpture Mindset, a VR headset woven from sweetgrass. The interior art was designed by Galanin. This deluxe edition will be available while supplies last.


1. Knives (feat. Portugal. The Man)

2. Light the Torch

3. Born into Rain (feat. and tunia)

4. At Tugáni

5. Get Yourself Together

6. Close the Distance

7. We Just Sit and Smile Here in Silence

8. A Feeling Undefined (fat. Nick Hakim and Iska Dhaaf)

9. Synthetic Gods (feat. Shabazz Palaces and Stas THEE Boss)

10. Gently to the Sun (feat. Tay Sean)

11. Back in That Time (feat. Qacung)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.