Circuit Sweet Introducing, Feature, News, Reviews

Lily Konigsberg Announces “The Best of Lily Konigsberg Right Now” Due May 21st via Wharf Cat Records + Shares New Single “Owe Me”

March 11, 2021
Jonah Peter

Lily Konigsberg Announces The Best of Lily Konigsberg Right Now

Shares “Owe Me”

The Best of Lily Konigsberg Right Now out May 21st on Wharf Cat Records 

Lily Konigsberg: singer, instrumentalist, lifelong songwriter. Since her early childhood, the Brooklyn-born-and-based artist has occupied her time with music. “Basically I was born and immediately started wanting to be a rock star,” Konigsberg told Pitchfork in July of last year (she was a 2020 Pitchfork Rising Artist). By the time she won a five-borough battle-of-the-bands contest as a teenager Konigsberg had already been performing solo sets in cafes around her native Park Slope, and in 2013 she would link with fellow Bard classmates Nina Ryser and Ani Ivry-Block to form the egalitarian art-punk outfit Palberta, a beloved DIY scene fixturewho have recently come to wider attention on the back of their critically-acclaimed 2021 album Palberta5000.

Since the early days of Palberta Konigsberg has been posting solo material on her personal Bandcamp page. Between various other collaborations and musical projects she has released three official EPs under her own name beginning with 2017’s Good Time Now, a milestone split release with Andrea Schiavelli, 2018’s 4 Picture Tear, and 2020’s It’s Just Like All the Clouds, her first EP on long-time Palberta home Wharf Cat Records, and a release that began to bring broader attention to Konigsberg’s solo work. Now, Konigsberg is announcing a new compilation on Wharf Cat entitled The Best of Lily Konigsberg Right Now, a release that compiles her three EPs alongside unreleased tracks into a remastered (or in some cases mastered for the first time) collection.

To announce the release Konigsberg is sharing “Owe Me,” an older track she initially demoed with It’s Just Like All The Clouds producer Paco Cathcart, that features keyboards from Matt Norman (Horn Horse) and final production handled by Nate Amos (This is Lorelei, Water From Your Eyes). 

This punchy beat starts as the atmosphere develops and unfolds before the first bars of the intoxicating vocals take focus. Raw lyrics and this unique vocal harmony captivate your full attention. This brash frequency provides an emerging and compelling depth to the melody that has been mastered for this ensemble. “Owe Me” is perfection, the delicate tones against the full-bodied electronic elements, Lily provides this dynamic exploration which also runs a course of mystery by the unpredictable changes throughout the journey. This entire release is a hit and such an impressionable hit at that, you’ll want this track to soundtrack a lot of moments for your world.

This compilation is a musical omnibus—the first widely distributed Lily Konigsberg physical release as well as the first vinyl treatment for both Good Time Now and 4 Picture Tear. The collection loosely parallels the melancholic narrative behind the latter, where a mental break triggered Konigsberg’s depersonalized sense of her past self. Of the 4 Picture Tear EP, Konigsberg says, “I would look at this photo-booth picture I took with Matt [Norman] and cry because I thought I was looking at the person I used to be in that picture and that person was gone.” In retrospect, these three EPs feel like distinctive vignettes of Konigsberg’s progression as a songwriter, each version of her past selves tethered by an invisible thread to the present through musical alliances and fervent introspection. 

“Owe Me,” a song Konigsberg never felt fit on any of her previous releases, now serves as an opening curtain call. “Thank you all for coming to my show,” Konigsberg says to an invisible audience’s applause. “If you didn’t know, now you certainly know.” It’s a transportive moment that combines Konigsberg’s patient steps into the underground pop limelight with her exceptional ability to connect with a diverse and talented cohort of creatives. 

I wrote ‘Owe Me’ in Petaluma on a trip with my friend Matt Norman,” says Konigsberg. “I knew immediately that it was one of those bangers that was gonna rock people’s worlds, but after Matt added some essential keyboard licks, it disappeared into the abyss of my computer accompanying roughly 500 other songs still stuck there. When concept of The Best of Lily Konigsberg Right Now came together with my friend Trip Warner, I knew this should be released. With the help of Nate Amos who enhanced the beat, added the descriptive sounds, and basically just made it sound amazing, it was finally complete. For me, the lyrics to this song aren’t as important as how much collaboration and friendship can transform a banger into a BANGER. I love my friends.” 

The Best of Lily Konigsberg Right Now will be released on Wharf Cat Records on May 21st, 2021. It is available for preorder here

1. Owe Me
2. To Hold It
3. Rock and Sin
4. 7 Smile
5. At Best A #3
6. It’s Just Like All The Clouds
7. I Said 
8. Summer In The City
9. Good Time
10. Lily’s National Anthem
11. Waterfall Snake Juice
12. Talk To Me w/ Birds
13. Roses
14. North Porsche
15. I Don’t Like The Name
16. Big Tall Grass
17. Opening The Day

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.