News, Reviews

Holiday Ghosts Share New Single “Off Grid” – New Album “North Street Air” due May 21st via FatCat Records

March 25, 2021
Photo credit: Holiday Ghosts

Share new single “Off Grid”

New album North Street Air due May 21st
via FatCat Records

Last month, Holiday Ghosts announced their singing to FatCat Records, for the release of third album North Street Air on May 21. Now, sees the release of the album’s latest single “Off Grid”, which is available to stream HERE.

Holiday Ghosts – based in Brighton, via Falmouth, and comprised of drummer Katja Rackin and guitarist Sam Stacpoole – mine the works of eras past to cast the best of artists such as The Kinks, Violent Femmes, Alex Chilton and Modern Lovers as a backdrop onto which they deconstruct a myriad of social issues. Themes of breaking out of moulds and expectations whilst addressing displacement, disillusionment, and living in the midst of heavy advertising and commercial landscapes, spider their way through the new record.

Where the album’s opening single “Mr. Herandi” – a song about the band’s landlord – assessed capitalism’s impact on creative cultures, new track “Off Grid” focusses on feelings of disconnection from the day-to-day. Guitarist Sam Stacpoole expands: “The song is made up of snap shots of city life, and of being alone with summer moods and feelings that makes it hard to go back to regular life. The music shares that same kind of excitement and fast paced feeling and flits between real every-day routines and imagined reactions to them.”

“Off Grid” will move you, easily. This infectious attitude runs deep within this bold creation, the moody motion finds this compelling tone to the release and in turn, elevates the audience and their experience with “Off Grid“. The scratchy guitar notes against the fierce unpredictable turns and consistent beat provide such a forcible orchestral movement. Holiday Ghosts are ready to captivate you, their ready to make their vital mark.

UK South coasters, relocating from West to East: Katja Rackin and Sam Stacpoole have been grafting and honing alone, away from the expertise of music producers and other governors since 2016. The result is unadulterated and unclean, unabashed and uncompromised. Through their love of artists such as The Kinks, Alex Chilton and The Nerves or any other artist who spends less time with the polishing cloth and more time with the power shower, Holiday Ghosts make music with a lean and primitive rock n roll spirit. Drums are stripped naked to the point of metronome status and no stomp boxes, nor cahons or didgeridoos could obscure the energy of guitars at their rawest.

In stories of landlords, steady jobs, wrong turns, short straws, sunny moods and city life, Kat and Sam share lead vocals alongside returning band-mate and song writer, Charlie Murphy, and a host of other musicians from Falmouth, Cornwall where the band began. Two albums in with Punk Slime Records and a casually bandcamped EP, Holiday Ghosts are back with their 3rd full length – North Street Air on FatCat Records (May 2021) – 12 songs of love, hate and everything in between.

Continuing about the album Katja Rackin says: “North Street is the busiest and most polluted feeling street in Brighton, and for 6 months that’s where we lived. Having the city center at your doorstep provides so many bizarre experiences and scenarios, so many weird and interesting people, continuous noise, and  crowds.”

Holiday Ghosts – North Street Air album artwork | Credit: Joe Fenwick-Wilson

Holiday Ghosts – North Street Air track listing

1. Mr. Herandi
2. Off Grid
3. Blood Orange
4. North Street Air
5. Bathing Suit
6. 3rd Dream
7. Makin A Fool
8. Total Crisis
9. Leaving Today
10. Told My Baby
11. Glue
12. Wallpaper

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.