News, Reviews

Bedrooms Share New Single “For Today” + Announce Debut EP “The Afterglow”

March 12, 2021
Bedrooms share new single “For Today” and announce debut EP The Afterglow

Produced by Bill Ryder-Jones

The Afterglow arrives April 2021

Dublin quartet Bedrooms are sharing new single “For Today”, the first song to be lifted from their forthcoming debut EP “The Afterglow”. The EP, due in April, was recorded with revered songwriter and producer Bill Ryder-Jones behind the desk.

Bedrooms forge a sound that brings together dream-pop, shoegaze, and a distinct slowcore sensibility, under the influence of artists like Alex G, Codeine, Cocteau Twins, Duster and Galaxie 500. “For Today” lurches at funeral procession pace before easing to its eruptive conclusion, extolling the virtues of pressing pause on life for a moment. The band’s Dane Staunton comments:

“For Today is a song we feel is our most ambitious to date. The song took shape over a period of months of being played live with some subtle changes being made to the arrangement over time. We hadn’t really done any demoing for the recording session so we kept exploring new ideas from the rehearsal room to the studio. Leaning into slowcore and shoegaze, the song is a development of sounds we became interested in while working previously with Daniel Fox from Girl Band.”

Bedrooms · For Today

Such a deep and courageous exploration awaits you the moment you press play. This enveloping creation starts as a slow burner before the intensity is ramped and delivered through the fierce riffs and bold tone. The vocals provide this crucial journey and captivate your full attention.

Staunton continues: “Recording this EP with Bill Ryder Jones was a bit of a dream come true for us. We’re huge admirers of his music and we felt that he could get the most out of these tracks and the sounds we had in our head. We essentially just chanced our arm by emailing his manager and everything kinda moved quickly from there. The few days we spent in West Kirby with Bill were pretty special to us and our favourite time as a band.

Through the ‘Afterglow’ EP we wanted to put together a collection of songs we believed reflected our progression as musicians and songwriters from our earlier releases. We had aimed to release the EP in the late summer of 2020 but given the uncertainty of everything going on this past year, we kept pushing back and were perhaps waiting for some sort of perfect storm where we could gig again and have a launch night to showcase the tracks. It seemed like that was never going to happen, but ultimately, we needed to remind ourselves that we created something that we’re all proud of and didn’t want to sit on the songs for any longer.”

Bedrooms are:

Dev McGarry (guitar and lead vocal)
Fionn Montague (lead guitar and backing vocal)
Dane Staunton (bass and backing vocal)
Ste O’Leary (drums)

Bedrooms – The Afterglow EP tracklisting

1. For Today
2. Circle K
3. In Yer Pocket

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.