Unknown Mortal Orchestra Shares Westerman’s Opening Album Track “Drawbridge” Remix

February 9, 2021
Cred: Bex Day

Westerman’s opening album track “Drawbridge” remixed by Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Debut album Your Hero Is Not Dead out now via Play It Again Sam

Westerman shares a remix of “Drawbridge” from Unknown Mortal Orchestra. It transforms the song from a playful acoustic introduction into highly charged, reverb-soaked psychedelia.

Such a rich collaboration, utilizing the immersive Westerman experience with this tonic textural transformation from Unknown Mortal Orchestra, the sublime psychedelia waves that provide this additional addictive aspect to the track. A refreshing spin on this composition adding a whole new level of complexity.

“Drawbridge” is the opener from Westerman’s debut album Your Hero Is Not Dead which came out in June last year on Play It Again Sam and Partisan in the US.
This follows the news that Westerman contributed a rework to Perfume Genius’ Immediately remix album which is set for release on 19th of February. The release includes remixes of every song on Perfume Genius’ recent album Set my Heart On Fire and as well as Westerman includes works from Actress, A.G. Cook, Jenny Hval, Nídia, Planningtorock and more.

Westerman was asked to curate his Morning After Mix for BBC 6 music which aired over the weekend (7th February) and included picks from Amen Dunes, Beverly Glenn-Copeland, and Kurt Vile.

Your Hero Is Not Dead is a graceful and self-reflective debut album that continues Westerman’s journey from pop maverick to one of the most vital voices coming out of the UK. The project includes previously released singles, “The Line”, the original “Your Hero Is Not Dead,” “Waiting on Design,” “Think I’ll Stay” and “Blue Comanche” and is the follow-up to his critically-acclaimed Ark EP. 

Towards the end of last year, he also released Choupanaa collection of early sketches from Your Hero Is Not Dead that includes the early workings of a song that was not included on the final album, “Above Average,” and initial versions of some of the standout tracks from the project – “Blue Comanche,” “The Line,” and “Think I’ll Stay.”

Find further details on his debut album Your Hero Is Not Dead, including tracklisting and cover art by renowned New York via Portugal Graphic Designer Bráulio Amado below as well as on his website


Your Hero Is Not Dead cover art by Bráulio Amado

Your Hero Is Not Dead
Play It Again Sam

1. Drawbridge
2. The Line
3. Big Nothing Glow
4. Waiting on Design
5. Think I’ll Stay
6. Dream Appropriate
7. Easy Money
8. Blue Comanche 
9. Confirmation
10. Paper Dogs
11. Float Over
12. Your Hero Is Not Dead

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.