News, Reviews

Renée Reed Releases Single “Où est la fée” From Self-Titled Debut Album out March 26th via Keeled Scales

February 16, 2021
Photo credit: LeaAnn B Stephan

Renée Reed Releases French Single
“Où est la fée”

From Self-Titled Debut Album out March 26th 

via Keeled Scales

Lafayette, Louisiana musician Renée Reed has shared “Où est la fée”. The song is the second single from her album and the first single she’s released in French.

It’s one of two French-language songs on her forthcoming self-titled debut album due March 26, 2021 via Keeled Scales (Buck Meek, Katy Kirby, Karima Walker, Sun June).

The scaled notes start and the warping warmth from the notes resonates into the intimate atmosphere before Renée Reed captivates the audience with the stunning vocal harmonies. Renée delivers another track with this hypnotic motion at the core of the release, Renée Reed has perfected the ability to craft contemporary classical arrangements whilst embracing her sublime songwriting skills to project a powerfully emotive force gliding throughout a dreamy soundscape.

Renée’s statement on “Où est la fée” and her album:

” ‘Où est la fée’ is a dream sequence, a narrative in which I am walking in the woods and find a letter on the ground: ‘Where is the fairy? It’s in your head.’ The letter has possibly been written by an ancestor/guardian angel figure or perhaps another version of myself, sent to point out what I’ve not been recognizing in myself, that I’ve been dealing with life, or rather not dealing with life, by escaping into fantasies. As dream logic does, the narrative focus of the letter and the song bends and blends seamlessly from the personal outward to other people in my life.”

This album is a collection of songs about toxic relationships, seeing ghosts, ancestral baggage and blessings, and daydreaming about love. It is about certain feelings and experiences I’ve had over my life coming to fruition in the past three years. It was all made on a four track recorder at home, in a place and in a way I feel most natural, and I believe that quality comes through in the sound.” 

Born and raised in southwest Louisiana, Renée Reed has always been unselfconsciously Cajun. She grew up on the accordion-bending knee of her grandfather Harry Trahan, in the middle of countless jam sessions at the one-stop Cajun shop owned by her parents Lisa Trahan and Mitch Reed, and soaked in the storytelling of her great uncle, the folklorist Revon Reed and his infamous brothers from Mamou. She was surrounded by a litany of Cajun and Creole music legends, both backstage at the many festivals of Southwest Louisiana, and on the porch of her family home.

Renée Reed Tracklisting:
1 Out Loud
2 I Saw a Ghost
3 Little Flower Dance
4 Fast One
5 Neboj
6. Où est la fée
7. Until Tomorrow
8. Your Seventh Moon
9. The Ash
10. Fool to the Fire
11. If Only We Could 
12. Drunken Widow’s Waltz

Available March 26, 2021 on LP, CD, & cassette via Keeled Scales

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.