Feature, News, Reviews

Otzeki Release New Single + Video For “Unthunk” Ahead Of Album Release

February 9, 2021
Photo Credit: Holly Whittaker


Release New Single ‘Unthunk’

Sophomore Album ‘Now is a Long Time’ 

Out 19th March 2021 via Akira Records

Ahead of their sophomore album, ‘Now is a Long Time’, subversive electronic-punk provocateurs Otzeki are unveiling the latest track, ‘Unthunk’, alongside a striking visual directed by Frankie Roberts. ‘Now is a Long Time’ is set to be released on 19th March 2021 via Akira Records.

Singer Mike Sharp on the song: “Unthunk is a sardonic ‘maditation’ on pop.  In terms of musical references, I was inspired by the kitschiness of Billy Joel’s ‘We didn’t start the fire’ after overhearing it at the Stapleton Tavern in Finsbury Park, I was also watching a bunch of music videos by the band Devo, Daft Punk, Throbbing Gristle and Kendrick Lamar. The seed grew out of a quirky drum loop Joel and I made using his TR8 drum machine, which gave the song a far slower vibe before Beni Giles later introduced vocoder and synths into the mix, taking it back to the 80’s.”

Director Frankie Roberts leaves us these words to accompany the video:

“Those cast into the dream dictatorship must dance, 

they are fuel for the hungry beat, their energy a fossil fuel and a currency; obliterated and regurgitated after serving their purpose. 

They power the godless face, the sorry product of search engines, edging one step closer to never having existed. 

All a blip on a fantasy landscape, leaving no trace.”

Unthunk delivers these pulsing beats, clashes, and offbeat angular notes. This dark but intricate atmosphere opens the arrangement and continues to gravitate, the pull brings in additional experimental elements whilst the sultry but commanding vocals add this immersive and crucial texture into the exploration. The journey plays on this charging direction from the pair as they cover such ground in their 3-minute orchestration. The lyrics emit this overflowing bustle of words gliding over the obscure musical path. Another dynamic shift from the previous tracks that we’ve experienced from the forthcoming album. Otzeki’s new album is destined for greatness.

Otzeki – the project of cousins Mike Sharp and Joel Roberts – was born after a semi drunken jam on a partly functioning Yamaha AN200 drum machine and a Fender Jaguar guitar. Taking their name from a misremembered Russian author, their blend of carefully sourced electronics, luscious electric guitar and falsetto vocals has been the longstanding formula of the project which has seen them tour Europe, UK and USA. Vigorously awakening crowds to the sound of their rhythm, they are able to create an almost deadly, definitely dangerous live energy which has become an integral part of who they are.

Returning with their first new music in two years, the pair are continuing to spread their kind message of hope, using music as their weapon of choice, and aiming to bring sanity to a world on its knees. The album artwork (see below) is a photograph of the band spray painting the first lyric of the album onto the advertising void left vacant due to the harsh economic times and empty streets.

An instantly exciting proposition; Otzeki manage to be both confrontational and disruptive whilst also undeniably pop.

Otzeki – Now is a Long Time tracklisting 

1. Shy Sooo Shy, 2. Sweet Sunshine, 3. Another Son, 4. Max Wells-Demon, 5. No Views, 6. Unthunk, 7. Used to Wonder, 8. Familiar Feeling, 9. Emotional Retail, 10. Leave Yourself Alone, 11. Remember, 12. Fading Up


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.