Feature, News, Reviews

Middle Kids Release New Song “Cellophane (Brain)” Taken From Forthcoming New Album

February 11, 2021
Photo credit: Imogen Wilson




The Sydney-based three-piece Middle Kids (Hannah JoyTim Fitz and Harry Day) now release “Cellophane (Brain)” the third single from their hotly anticipated second album, Today We’re The Greatest, out March 19, 2021 via Lucky Number. 

Premiered by Zane Lowe on Apple Music 1“Cellophane (Brain)” sets a new artistic benchmark for the band, a three-and-a-half minute encapsulation of all the ambition, lyrical scope and musicality packed into their upcoming album. You can pre-order the new album HERE.
“Cellophane (Brain)” is a triumph of emotive songwriting. Multi-instrumentalist Tim Fitz has this song in mind when he says “This feels like a move towards a bold and honest sound. When we were recording, we were asking ‘what is the emotion of this sound’ instead of ‘is this a cool sound’? A guitar wailing and breaking up in the distance is emotional because it sounds like an emotion that we’ve all felt.”
Lyrically the song explores a darker and more vulnerable side of the band’s songwriting. Lead singer/songwriter Hannah Joy explains the meaning behind the song;
“I remember making a diorama in primary school for an under-the-ocean scene using cellophane. I loved the way cellophane looked but I hated the way it crunched and creased in my hands. It’s one of those weird things you remember sometimes… I’m not even sure if cellophane is an exact metaphor for my mind but it feels connected to the song for me.  When I consciously started taking note of what was going on in my brain it was usually ANXIOUS and NEGATIVE. If my mind is a minefield of fear and sadness, nothing else can shift my overall sense of myself. But to change one’s thinking is incredibly hard. It’s an inner journey with little extrinsic reward or accountability.”

Middle Kids have this remarkable energy and stunning songwriting skills, they can adapt their music to reflect any emotion mirrored through their notes. With their new single “Cellophane (Brain)”, Middle Kids offer up one of their most emotionally enriched compositions yet. The pounding notes push this movement whilst the guitar tone reflects some form of resonating attachment. The lyrics melt you, relatable and honest. This is a truly cathartic orchestration from an outfit that continues to craft some of the most meaningful creations.

“Cellophane (Brain)’’ follows the release of singles R U 4 ME? and “Questions” and was recorded in Los Angeles with producer Lars Stalfors (St. Vincent, Soccer Mommy, Purity Ring). The album Today We’re The Greatest is the uninhibited product of fearless collaboration, a vivid collection of 12 courageous, personal and rattling songs. It follows the release of Middle Kids’ critically acclaimed 2018 debut, Lost Friends, which was awarded Album of the Year by Triple J Radio and was also nominated for Best Rock Album at the ARIA Awards. The record also earned them support slots with the likes of Bloc PartyWar on Drugs and Cold War Kids as well as several US TV show performances including Conan, Jimmy Kimmel and The Late, Late Show with James Corden.


  1. Bad Neighbours
  2. Cellophane (Brain)
  3. R U 4 Me?
  4. Questions
  5. Lost in Los Angeles
  6. Golden Star
  7. Summer Hill
  8. Some People Stay In Our Hearts Forever
  9. Run With You
  10. I Don’t Care
  11. Stacking Chairs
  12. Today We’re The Greatest


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.