News, Reviews

Come Play With Me Announce ‘Side By Side’ Compilation & Share First Single From ​Jamaal Monarch​

February 20, 2021
Jamaal Monarch – Credit: Ivie Bartlett



Leeds label and development organisation Come Play With Me ​have announced their forthcoming compilation ‘​Side by Side​’: a new project to support women, marginalised genders and LGBTQ+ artists based in Leeds and further afield around the north of England. The album is the latest in a series of exciting releases from the much-respected Leeds label, following last year’s ‘​Come Stay With Me​’ compilation fundraising for local artists, and their ongoing 7” singles club series.

The album features a collection of 12 brand new tracks from an exceptionally talented group of artists including emerging shoegaze/dream-pop songwriter ​Bored At My Grandma’s House​, renowned composer and Carnatic vocalist ​Supriya Nagarajan, ​art-rock collective ​Dilettante ​(led by multi-instrumentalist Francesca Pidgeon), and soul/pop singer-songwriter ​Tyron Webster​. Due for release summer 2021, the album will be available both digitally and on limited vinyl via the ​CPWM ​website along with various online streaming services.

The compilation’s first single comes from ​Jamaal Monarch​, an ambitious hip-hop artist raised in Manchester with Pakistani roots. Unafraid to confront both personal introspection and wider societal issues, Jamaal’s music displays courage and vulnerability, representing a brave individual voice that allows the listener to view the world through his unique lens. Having steadily built a reputation through a string of energetic performances across the UK including big shows at the Manchester and Birmingham Pride events, Jamaal released his long-awaited debut album ‘Audio Honey’ in December 2020. Produced, engineered and mixed by Jamaal himself, the album was mastered by Eve Studios’ Joel Patchett (King Krule, The Orielles, Billy Ocean and Denzel Curry).‘​Love’s A Joke, I’m The Butt Of It​’ reflects Jamaal’s wide sphere of influence and varied musical palette, seeing him ruminate on the pursuit of love and relationships with a sincerity that simultaneously manages to address complex emotions while somehow also conveying a dark sense of humour and personality in the process. Accompanied by a soundtrack of intricate beats and futuristic synths, ‘Love’s A Joke…’ showcases Jamaal’s ability to fluidly switch between deftly delivered free-flowing rap verses and vocal chorus hooks layered with elaborate harmonies.

Jamaal on ‘Love’s A Joke…’: “The track was inspired by, well, I fell in love super hard in April and that whole period was a real coming-of-age, turning point moment for me. COVID aside, I had just had a birthday, my Gran died, this love was heavy on my mind and heart, and I learned a lot through the whole experience. This track is me being able to digest and understand how that love made me feel, how I looked at myself, how I looked at someone else. Also, this track is part of my journey in understanding love as a concept generally, romantically or platonically, and understanding my own worth and value in these situations. I’m really proud of the writing on this song, simply because it helped me digest an experience, learn, and understand my emotions.”

Jamaal Monarch​ captures this innovative vision through their creations. Capturing emotions- be it moments of reflectiveness, courage and honesty. A humble wordsmith with lashes of energy and words that must be heard.

Tony Ereira, Come Play With Me director on ‘Side By Side’: We’re ridiculously excited to be working with an incredible group of musicians on this album. There’s such an amazing diversity of music being made in and around Leeds right now – but we wanted to show off some of the equally amazing diversity of musicians making it too. There isn’t a duff track on here and there’s hopefully plenty to keep everyone interested. We feel dead lucky to be working with this lot and showing them all off to the world!”

Full ‘Side by Side’ tracklist:
1. Tyron Webster – Love Ya, Pt. II

2. Dilettante – Single Serve

3. Bored At My Grandmas House – China Doll (Demo)

4. Long Legged Creatures – EZY8667

5. Witch Of The East – Somethings Wrong

6. LADY – Foolish Love

7. Supriya Nagarajan – A Paradox Of Opposites

8. DHRAMA – Another Life

9. Shauna – Modes Of Thinking (Club Quarantine Rework)

10. The Elephant Trees – Day 42

11. Jamaal Monarch – Love’s A Joke, I’m The Butt Of It

12. DIVE – Take Me Away

‘Side by Side’ ​is available to pre-order here.

Come Play With Me​ is a Leeds based development organisation, record label and magazine first launched as a singles club in 2015. Since its inception the label have supported a huge number of artists from the region as well releasing over 30 releases on vinyl for Leeds artists including the ‘Come Stay With Me’ compilation released in Summer 2020 to raise funds for contributing artists following Covid-19 related loss of earnings and opportunity. CPWM are also responsible for a number of events including LGBTQ The Music & HERFest.‘Side By Side’ is supported with funding from The National Lottery Social Enterprise Support Fund and PRS Foundation

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.