Molchat Doma Share New Video For “Zvezdy”

January 1, 2021
Photo credit: Stas Kard


Share new video for “Zvezdy”
Album ‘Monument’ out now on Sacred Bones

Following the recent release of their new album ‘Monument’ through Sacred Bones, Belarus-based trio Molchat Doma have shared a new video for track “Zvezdy”

Translating as “Stars,” the track encapsulates their Russian-language noir romance, with vocalist Egor Shutko chanting “You are the stars, and I am the moon / I am the moon / You are the sun / You are the sun / You are the sun / In my eyes.”

The new video, directed by Mikita Kostochko and filmed in their home town of Minsk, Belarus, beautifully complements the wistful sense of yearning, following a man who spends his days reluctantly painting over inspired graffiti.

‘Monument’ is a fitting title for the third album by Belarusian trio Molchat Doma. Indeed, it stands as a monument to everything they’ve achieved in their short time as a band, from whispered-about unknowns, to enigmatic underground icons, to legitimate viral sensations with hundreds of thousands of TikTok videos using their music. 
Molchat Doma (translated as “Houses Are Silent”), founded in 2017 in Minsk, stand at the intersection of post-punk, new-wave and synth-pop. Dark, yet danceable. The band is comprised of Egor Shkutko, who sings the Russian lyrics in his deep, thundering tones, Roman Komogortsev on guitar, synths, and drum machine, and Pavel Kozlov on bass and synths. 
Written and recorded while the band was quarantined in their hometown of Minsk during the COVID-19 pandemic, ‘Monument’ is a conscious step up in songwriting and fidelity, and it reveals a band preternaturally comfortable in its own skin. Their greatest strength has always been their songwriting, and three albums in, they have truly honed their craft. With ‘Monument’, Molchat Doma have done one of the hardest things to do as a band. They’ve greatly expanded the scope of their music while retaining everything that made them great in the first place. ‘Monument’ is a marker of what promises to be a truly pivotal moment in their career.
‘Monument’ tracklist:
1. Utonut
2. Obrechen
3. Discoteque
4. Ne Smeshno
5. Otveta Net
6. Zvezdy
7. Udalil Tvoy Nomer
8. Leningradskiy Blues
9. Lubit ‘i Vypolnyat’

Molchat Doma are a phenomenal new act- their new album dominates their ability to create expansive brooding dark waves of powerful bleak synth-pop. Building their layers of jarring angular tones and adding their commanding deep vocals, the aura pulls you in. If it’s not this brooding intensity then the band adapts to propel themselves into the most addictive disco beat you can embrace. The act effortlessly craft one hellish disco beat takes immediate focus to these boisterous yet charming arrangements from Molchat Doma. This band brings big disco beats and momentum and collides this with harsher elements they convey and the end result is fierce and addictive.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.