News, Reviews

Young States Release New Single ‘Fool’s Paradise’

November 26, 2020

Young States Release New Single ‘Fool’s Paradise’

Norwich-based trio Young States have released their new single ‘Fool’s Paradise’ alongside a lyric video. It follows up the release of ‘Save Yourself‘ earlier this year.

‘Fool’s Paradise’ is a heartfelt track about how hopeful you can get about a situation and its desired outcome… only for it not to work out the way you wanted. Georgia Leeder (vocals, bass) says, “I tried to channel that feeling you get when it happens. It’s basically like you’re having a go at the feeling of hope for building you up so high just to let you down.”

This burning intensity shines throughout this new arrangement. Shimmering notes cut an emotive appeal and enrich this bold composition from Young States. The lyrics resonate honesty and find a connection to the audience, whilst the energy of this band just dominates this exploration. Georgia’s vocal harmonies captivate and assist with the emotions that are captured in their new track.

Young States formed when vocalist Georgia was just 17 and the band cut their teeth with two hook-laiden EPs ‘Down To You’ and ‘Past Truths | Present Lies’. As they developed and ultimately ended up taking some time out, half of the original line-up decided they were out. The other half ended up regrouping at the end of 2018 with a refreshed outlook and desire, and a new drummer, Ben Brennan.

They then dove headfirst into writing and crafted a clutch of new songs, which they worked on at Steel City Studios in Sheffield with producer Drew Lawson. The band are hoping to get out on the road next year to finally give this new music the live audience it deserves.

Young States are:
Georgia Leeder (vocals, bass)
Libby Irons (guitar, backing vocals)
Ben Brennan (drums)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.