Circuit Sweet Interview, Feature, News, Reviews


November 11, 2020



Polyphozia are a band from Wenzhou, China consisting of vocalist and guitarist Christopher Henry, bassist Zim Chen and drummer Logan Long who are about to unleash their debut album Suitcase Of Voices and we are proud to present an exclusive world premiere of the album ahead of its release on Friday 13th November. 

The album features a blend of grunge, shoegaze, and a touch of progressive rock, and weaving the record’s ten tracks together is a narrative dealing with the aftermath of a relationship-ending argument. Suitcase Of Voices was recorded by the band members at several studios, their homes, and more throughout Wenzhou during the Spring and Summer of 2019, giving the album a very rich, organic sound. The record was mixed by David Klug at David Klug Studio and mastered by Bill Henderson at Azimuth Mastering.

As well as the album premiere, we have an exclusive track by track run through from Polyphozia vocalist and guitarist Christopher Henry who tells us the meaning and his thoughts behind each song on the album. 

Suitcase Of Voices Track Listing

  1. Tornado Alley
  2. Question
  3. Wordless Drive
  4. Sandwich
  5. Balloon
  6. Distracted
  7. Foolish
  8. Make Sure
  9. Wordless Walk
  10. The Bus

Christopher: It begins with “Tornado Alley” – while the lyrics can be read straight-forwardly, the song is actually about relationship turmoil and the repetitive problems that couples face, for which the tornado coming again and again serves as a metaphor. After each argument, the couple re-builds their “town” again and stay in the relationship despite knowing there’ll be another tornado.

The next song is “Question,” a tension-building waltz about a texting argument in which the caps lock key stays engaged. The protagonist of the narrative gradually loses his temper and goes for a drive to clear his mind. This is where “Wordless Drive,” one of the album’s two instrumental interludes, plays out. It features an almost half-time version of the main riff from a song further in the track-list, “Make Sure,” and foreshadows the breakdown to come.

While his anger subsides into daydreaming, with “Sandwich,” we begin a several track long look back at how this arguably toxic relationship began. His mind wanders back to university, remembering wasted days, the careless burning of his evening meals, and how he felt like no more than a shadow. Much of his time passed like that, and he could hardly bear it. He eventually struck a real low point and considered taking his own life.

“Balloon” captures the feelings and circumstances of the day he met the girl who became his wife. A light rain fell as he walked around campus. He saw her trying to give out balloons for a cancer charity. She saw him and asked if he would like to take one. Her smile and kindness made him want to try harder. The song ends with, “Don’t you fly away.” He’s talking to the balloon, but also his new found sense of hope, and most importantly, the girl. He needs her to hoist himself out of the pit of depression that had threatened to do him in. And for what seems like a first, he actually wins her over. A few years pass and they get married, but the emotional weight he puts on her makes her begin to resent him. Add that to various other problems that stem from his carelessness and pessimism, and they altogether stop getting along.

In “Distracted,” the protagonist feels like he’s out of options. He’s frustrated because he sees that he’s betraying himself, but he can’t stop it. The song ends with the lines, “You’re my idea, I should take care of you. You’re my idea, but I can’t carry you.”

The narrative shifts back into the present as “Foolish” starts. He’s in his car, talking to himself and speeding down a pretty rural road. As he weaves with the road he imagines being a race-car driver. He feels ready to sacrifice anything for some kind of victory. He keeps telling himself, “keep it up!” Lost in this delusion, he doesn’t snap out of it until he finds the car sputtering to a stop.

Make Sure” begins. He was driving so fast and carelessly lost in thought that he forgot to check the gas gauge. He pulls the car off the road and checks his phone. The last text his wife sent was, “When are you coming back?” He starts to write a reply, but his phone powers down. He yells at himself, “I should’ve known you’d drive me out again!” He has failed himself yet again.

With no other choice, he gets out of the car and walks until he finds a bus stop. A chorus of bugs surround a lonely guitar passage as he makes his “Wordless Walk” to the nearest bus stop.

Lastly, on “The Bus” back home, he’s so tired that he falls asleep and misses his stop. When eventually a stretch of bumpy road wakes him, he doesn’t know where he is. He laments, “no one woke me up.” The story ends here, leaving you to wonder what will happen next, or perhaps leaving you the chance to decide for yourself. 

Check out the world premiere of the album streaming below and enjoy the grunge and shoegaze soundscapes of Suitcase Of Voices as Polyphozia take you on a musical journey. 

Suitcase Of Voices Due 13th November 2020 via Nefarious Industries

Words: Gavin Brown

Pre-order your copy now:

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.