News, Reviews

Molchat Doma Releases New Album ‘Monument’ Out Now via Sacred Bones

November 17, 2020
Photo credit: Stas Kard

Molchat Doma Releases New Album ‘Monument’

Out Now via Sacred Bones

‘Monument’ is a fitting title for the third album by Belarusian trio Molchat Doma. Indeed, it stands as a monument to everything they’ve achieved in their short time as a band, from whispered-about unknowns, to enigmatic underground icons, to legitimate viral sensations with hundreds of thousands of TikTok videos using their music. 
Molchat Doma (translated as “Houses Are Silent”), founded in 2017 in Minsk, stand at the intersection of post-punk, new-wave and synth-pop. Dark, yet danceable. The band is comprised of Egor Shkutko, who sings the Russian lyrics in his deep, thundering tones, Roman Komogortsev on guitar, synths, and drum machine, and Pavel Kozlov on bass and synths. 
When their debut album ‘S Krysh Nashikh Domov’ was released in 2017, it announced a bold new voice in underground music. The album found a passionate audience on Bandcamp and other streaming services and was released on CD and cassette. Second LP ‘Etazhi’ (meaning “Floors”) was first released in 2018 on Berlin-based Detriti Records. It became a viral hit, garnering over one million views on YouTube and becoming a legitimate phenomenon on Bandcamp. Six separate vinyl pressings of the album sold out before Sacred Bones signed the band earlier this year and brought both records back into print for good. The signing was celebrated with the band’s first ever London show, which saw tickets sell so fast that the venue was upgraded twice and eventually had the iconic Scala packed to the rafters for a rapturously received show, mere weeks before lockdown came into force.
Written and recorded while the band was quarantined in their hometown of Minsk during the COVID-19 pandemic, ‘Monument’ is a conscious step up in songwriting and fidelity, and it reveals a band preternaturally comfortable in its own skin. Their greatest strength has always been their songwriting, and three albums in, they have truly honed their craft.
As the band’s arrangements have grown more sophisticated, so too have the sounds they use to bring them to life. Roman Komogortsev and Pavel Kozlov’s gear arsenal has grown to include an extensive range of synthesizers and drum machines, all of which they deploy with precision. Egor Shkutko’s vocals move fluidly between his distinctive deadpan drawl and an expressive, velvety lull, his beautifully delivered Russian lyrics both bleak and romantic. 
With ‘Monument’, Molchat Doma have done one of the hardest things to do as a band. They’ve greatly expanded the scope of their music while retaining everything that made them great in the first place. ‘Monument’ is a marker of what promises to be a truly pivotal moment in their career.

‘Monument’ tracklist:
1. Utonut
2. Obrechen
3. Discoteque
4. Ne Smeshno
5. Otveta Net
6. Zvezdy
7. Udalil Tvoy Nomer
8. Leningradskiy Blues
9. Lubit ‘i Vypolnyat’

Molchat Doma are a phenomenal new act- their new album dominates their ability to create expansive brooding dark waves of powerful bleak synth-pop. Building their layers of jarring angular tones and adding their commanding deep vocals, the aura pulls you in. If it’s not this brooding intensity then the band adapts to propel themselves into the most addictive disco beat you can embrace. The act effortlessly craft one hellish disco beat takes immediate focus to these boisterous yet charming arrangements from Molchat Doma. This band brings big disco beats and momentum and collides this with harsher elements they convey and the end result is fierce and addictive.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.