Live Skull Share New Single & Video “Day One of the Experiment” – Album “Dangerous Visions” due December 11th on Bronson Recordings

November 25, 2020
Photo credit: Michael Jung


Share new single & video “Day One of the Experiment”
Album ‘Dangerous Visions’ out December 11 on Bronson Recordings
A collection of new and old recordings

NYC’s Live Skull have shared a third track and accompanying video from forthcoming album, ‘Dangerous Visions’, which is to be released via Bronson Recordings on December 11th

The album is a record of two halves; the first half new recordings and the second half digging into the archives. “Day One Of The Experiment is a new cut recorded live in Ravenna, Italy at Transmission XII and the accompanying video includes footage of the performance as well as imagery shot en route to the festival.

Live Skull founding member Mark C comments: “The song recounts a daughter’s discovery of her fathers’ lost airplane, years after his disappearance and reminded me of my father’s experience as a pilot in the air force, who survived his airplane getting shot down.  Born as a rehearsal jam, and developed live, it’s one of the first tracks written collectively by the latest version of the Live Skull experiment.”

Watch the ferocious new video below:

Emerging in the early 80s at the end of New York’s legendary No Wave scene alongside Manhattan comrades Sonic Youth and Swans, Live Skull reshaped the aggression of burned-out post-punk into heavy, guitar-driven rock. This new release showcases their evolution, with Side 1 featuring recently recorded tracks, whilst Side 2 digs into the archives and includes four tracks from their 1989 Peel Session, released here for the first time.

Such a wide range of sources could make for a scattered album, but Live Skull’s singular approach to music making unites everything on ‘Dangerous Visions’. The band’s new tunes tear into the air with the same ferocity of their early material, while the unearthed tracks are still vitally relevant today. Four decades since they began, the world still needs music from this band that never stops evolving and pushing itself–because there’s still no one who sounds like Live Skull. 

With artwork by celebrated illustrator and cartoonist Gary Panter, ‘Dangerous Visions’ will be released on CD, white vinyl, transparent purple vinyl (limited to 100 copies), transparent red vinyl (limited to 100 copies) and digital download. The digital edition comes with a bonus extra track. It is available to pre-order at

‘Dangerous Visions’ track list:

Side 1 (2019-2020)
1. In a Perfect World
2. Debbie’s Headache (new version)
3. Day One of the Experiment
4. Dispatches
5. Twin Towers
Side 2 (1987-1989) 
1. Safe From Me (Peel Session)
2. Some One Else’s sweat (Peel Session)
3. Adema (Peel Sessions) (unreleased)
4. Amputease (Peel Session)
5. Tri-Power
6. Alive Again
Digital download bonus track: Paul Revere’s Bush (Tree Girl)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.