The War On Drugs Announce “LIVE DRUGS” out 20th November via Adam Granduciel’s Super High Quality Records + Share Lead Track “Pain (Live)”

October 8, 2020

The War On Drugs Announce “LIVE DRUGS” out 20th November via Adam Granduciel’s Super High Quality Records


Share Lead Track “Pain (Live)”

The War On Drugs will release LIVE DRUGS, their first new album since 2017’s GRAMMY-winning A Deeper Understanding,on November 20th via Super High Quality Records, bandleader Adam Granduciel’s own record label. LIVE DRUGS is a collection culled from over 40 hard drives of recorded live shows spread out across years of touring behind multiple albums. It’s the first volume to capture the band’s live interpretations and a document showcasing the evolution of the band’s live show over the years. It’s also a portrait of the enduring relationship between Granduciel and LIVE DRUGS’s co-producer Dominic East, a long-time friend, guitar tech and stage manager. 

The War on Drugs creates such ethereal projections you can’t help but be consumed and even in the first glimpse of a live track, this skill is one again effortlessly captured.

As a band leader, I always want to know where a song can go,” Granduciel explains. “Even though we’ve recorded it, mastered it, put it out, and been touring on it, it doesn’t mean that we just have to do it the same way forever.” And in that way, LIVE DRUGS  is a freeing moment for the band. Now finally captured, these live iterations of the songs feel recontextualized, and subsequently less precious. “It feels like it’s kind of a reset, to be able to put something out that’s a really good interpretation of the way we interpret our music live. Even though this recording is from a year of tours, this is really how these six guys evolved as a band from 2014 to 2019.

Over the last six months, The War On Drugs have been laying low — working in the studio on a new album, remixing The Rolling Stones’ ‘Scarlett’, and recording exclusive performances for various non-profit groups, including Vote Readyfor voter registration, Love From Phillybenefitting Philadelphia’s arts community and Tzedek DCsupporting legal rights of low-income DC residents.

1. An Ocean Between The Waves (Live)

2. Pain (Live)

3. Strangest Thing (Live)

4. Red Eyes (Live)

5. Thinking Of A Place (Live)

6. Buenos Aires Beach (Live)

7. Accidentally Like a Martyr (Live)

8. Eyes to the Wind (Live)

9. Under the Pressure (Live)

10. In Reverse (Live)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.