News, Reviews

SUUNS Share Title Track & Video From Upcoming EP ‘FICTION’ Due October 30th via Joyful Noise Recordings

October 25, 2020


Share title track & new video ‘FICTION
EP due Oct 30th via Joyful Noise Recordings 

Montreal-based SUUNS, made up of Ben Shemie, Joe Yarmush, and Liam O’Neill, are sharing the title-track from their forthcoming EP, FICTION, which is due out October 30th on Joyful Noise Recordings. The new track comes with an animated video directed by Dr. Cool/ Jordan Minkoff.

FICTION‘ was inspired by BJ Burton’s work with Low and is about time moving simultaneously fast and slow. Speaking about the accompanying visuals, Dr. Cool/ Jordan Minkoff said “Considering the limited time and ability to film anything in the Montreal red zone I got the band to send me some videos of them playing. I tried very hard to make webcam footage look watchable by rotoscoping it and turning it into some glowie sci-fi thing. My animation style is usually more colourful and wacky so it was fun to try and change it up for the SUUNS darkness.”

Suuns create their own unique and ample colossal aura, their dynamic arrangements grip all. With their title track, this force is on full display, as the band create a riveting and momentous new orchestration. Ominous details, deep trance-like waves provide an intense exploration

SUUNS are future-oriented. New sounds, new techniques, new ways of thinking; above all, new environments are the lifeblood of the band. And true to form, here on the FICTION EP, SUUNS are exploring fresh processes as a result of their current surroundings and global circumstances. 

On the FICTION EP, new sounds and sonic directions are fashioned out of old. A year-long period of limited resources and contact inspired the band to reflect on the various environments in which they’ve created music over the years: to comb through their previous sounds and creative approaches, and fuse them together with new ideas, ultimately producing a sort of future/past alchemy. The FICTION EP is as much a project of curation as it is one of creation: sifting, re-imagining, and re-framing, sometimes completely disassembling and then building from the ground up. Each song is a live-off-the-floor recording that was then taken into isolation and re-worked. It’s the sound of SUUNS regrouping, and then poised, and then driving towards the future.

FICTON EP track list:
2. BREATHE (feat. Jerusalem In My Heart)
5. DEATH (feat. Amber Webber)


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.