Feature, News, Reviews

Holy Motors Share “Trouble” Video – LP Out October 16th via Wharf Cat Records

October 7, 2020
Grete Ly Valing

Holy Motors Share “Trouble” Video

Horse LP Out October 16th On Wharf Cat Records

Holy Motors, the enigmatic quartet of ex-Soviet cowboys,are back with their third single, “Trouble“, ahead of their new album, Horse. It’s the follow up to the group’s stunning 2018 debut, Slow Sundown, and will arrive on October 16th via Wharf Cat Records(Bambara, Dougie Poole, Public Practice).There’s also a music video created from recut live footage, the majority of which came from their Nox Orae festival appearance with Anton Newcombe of the Brian Jonestown Massacre in 2019. 

Trouble is a bold, sweeping orchestration filled with intricate guitar hooks, an expansive country-esque soundscape, and captivating vocals. Holy Motors build this abrasive and momentous atmosphere, rich in textures, their new arrangement devours you, hypnotic riffs and dramatic soundscapes add to this fierce projection.  Holy Motors fuse a western feel to their pure rock resilient approach, guitar tones and riffs that are in the league of Khruangbin- yet Holy Motors own their unique sound. This is sure to be one of the most exhilarating records of 2020 and then some.

Singer and songwriter Eliann Tulve remarks that “‘Trouble’ is a song about being in a half-real, half-dream state, like the troubled state of mind that sometimes comes with the night, and you know it’s just fears of the unreal but that doesn’t stop that eerie feeling that’s saying ‘something weird is in the air tonight.’ It’s like a secret between the writer and the listener.

Horse will be released October 16th on Wharf Cat Records. It is available for preorder here.

1. Country Church
2. Endless Night
3. Midnight Cowboy
4. Road Stars
5. Matador
6. Come On, Slowly
7. Trouble
8. Life Valley (So Many Miles Away)


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.