News, Reviews

Death Valley Girls Share new Video “Hypnagogia”- New LP ‘Under the Spell of Joy’ Out Now via Suicide Squeeze Records

October 4, 2020
Photo credit: David Fearn


Share new video Hypnagogia
LP ‘Under the Spell of Joy’ out now via Suicide Squeeze Records 

With their new album ‘Under the Spell of Joy out now via Suicide Squeeze Records, Los Angeles doom-boogie group Death Valley Girls are sharing their new video “Hypnagogia“.

Speaking about the video, director Arturo Baston said “‘Hypnagogia‘ music video aims to represent both a mystical dream and a universal spell, trying to include rites, superstitions, and symbologies that were taken, with absolute respect, from different beliefs around the world (black cats, resurrection butterflies, Huichol deer and Anansi, the African trickster spider, for example). Maybe, it can also be understood as an audiovisual Totem. It was a truly great honor for me to work with such a powerful and meaningful music.”

Adding to this, Death Valley Girls’ vocalist & guitarist Bonnie Bloomgarden spoke about the track, saying “You can have what you want, but only if you know what you want! We have been practicing manifesting for a while but only recently discovered the concept of visualization. Visualization allows you to feel/imagine as though you just achieved that which you are trying to manifest! To actually feel the joy of success surround you is a remarkably strong way to manifest what you desire. This song is meant to be a tool to bring you to that state of joy. First press play. While listening to the song, start to imagine what you desire, and most want to bring into your life. Imagine how it feels, how do you feel? Do you feel different? Who will you tell this news to first? What will they say when they hear the good news? What will you say differently to yourself before going to bed or right when you wake up in the morning? Does it feel better than you imagined this achievement to feel? When it gets to the breakdown, feel free to say or chant your phrase of success! Mine is ‘holy shit, no way, that’s so cool’ what’s yours?”

Their new album is easily one of the most immersive records, not only of 2020 but of our time. The entire record is a mythical exploration and a vital listen. The record flows with trippy elements that are both expansive and imperative. Clashes of keys, righteous riffs, surges of sensual sax, and serious compelling vocals throughout.

Under The Spell of Joy’ track list:
1. Hypnagogia
2. Hold My Hand
3. Under the Spell of Joy
4. Bliss Out 
5. Hey Dena
6. The Universe
7. It All Washes Away 
8. Little Things 
9. 10 Day Miracle Challenge 
10. I’d Rather Be Dreaming 
11. Dream Cleaver

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.