Circuit Sweet Introducing, News

Dead End America Announce Crush The Machine 7″ & Digital EP via Southern Lord out October 30th

October 5, 2020
Collage provided by Southern Lord

Dead End America Announce Crush The Machine 7″ & Digital EP via Southern Lord out October 30th

Southern Lord announce Crush The Machine, the debut EP from West Coast hardcore punk collective D.E.A (Dead End America), formed by the late, great Steve “Thee Slayer Hippy” Hanford of Poison Idea, with current and former members of Queens Of The Stone AgeEyehategodThe Accüsed A.DWorld Of LiesApe Machine, and more. Captured before Hanford’s passing earlier this year, D.E.A’s debut shall be released on 7″ and digital EP on 30th October. Recording details, liner notes from Mark Lanegan and more info below. 

Crush The Machine sees the primary writers, drummer/vocalist Steve Hanford and guitarist Tony Avila (World of Lies, Why Won’t You Die, Aborted Cop, Here’s Your Warning) joined by lead guitarist Ian Watts (Ape Machine, Minmae) and bassist/vocalist Nick “Rex Everything” Oliveri (Mondo Generator, The Dwarves, ex-Kyuss, ex-Queens Of The Stone Age), with additional lyrics and vocals from Mike IX Williams (Eyehategod, Corrections House, Outlaw Order) and Blaine Cook (The Accüsed A.D, The Fartz, Toe Tag).

A perfectly appropriate title for this 7-inch EP of jack-hammering, old-school style hardcore tunes released by Southern Lord, written and played by a rogues gallery of real deal music lifers as a condemnation of the criminal Trump administration and republican party, in the same spirit of those by-gone days when Ronald Reagan or George Bush was the crooked, self-serving president of the crumbling United States empire. Never before has there been a more obvious target, as Donald Trump and his mafia family cabinet rape the country while Rome burns. D.E.A. is Tony Avila, Ian Watts, Nick Oliveri, Mike IX, Blaine Cook, and the legendary and beloved, late producer and drummer of Poison Idea, Steve ‘Thee Slayer Hippy’ Hanford. Dying shortly before the completion of this record, it stands as a final testament to his genius, one last hot-wired blast of his epic musical brilliance. – Mark Lanegan, August 2020 

Crush The Machine Track Listing:

1. Dead White Hands

2.Twitter Troll

3. Bullet For 45 (Straight from a .45)

4. Searching For A Reason 

D.E.A is:

Steve “Thee Slayer Hippy” Hanford – drums, vocals

Tony Avila – guitarIan Watts – lead guitar

Nick “Rex Everything” Oliveri – bass, vocals

Mike IX Williams – vocals

Blaine Cook – vocals 

Recorded at House Of Tain in Milwaukee, Oregon, The Magic Closet in Stayton, Oregon, and Mondo Generator Studios in Salton Sea, California. Mike IX’s vocals on “Bullet for .45 (Straight from a .45)” were recorded by Sanford Parker at Hypercube in Chicago, Illinois, and Blaine Cook’s vocals on “Searching For A Reason” were recorded at RGP in Portland, Oregon. The tracks were mixed by Mr. Ian Watts at The Magic Closet and mastered by Nick Townsend at Townsend Mastering. The cover art by Dirty Donny and layout by Emma Maatman.

 Southern Lord will release Crush The Machine digitally on October 30th, with the 7” vinyl to follow a month later via Southern Lord. Digital preorders active on Bandcamp.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.