Feature, News, Reviews

Camila Fuchs Share Two New Singles Taken From Forthcoming Album Due Via Felte

October 23, 2020
Photo credit: Thyra Dragseth


Share two new singles- Hear “Pool of Wax” and “Come About” now
Album ‘Kids Talk Sun’ out November 13th on Felte Records

Lisbon-based Mexican/German duo Camila Fuchs have shared two new tracks from their forthcoming album ‘Kids Talk Sun,’ which will be released on November 13 via Felte Records.
Recorded with Spacemen 3/Sonic Boom’s Peter Kember in the misty, castle-peaked hills of Sintra, just outside Lisbon in Portugal, the duo’s third album sees their experimental electronic pop imbued with a youthful sense of light and wonder. Amidst nine tracks of off-kilter, vibrant atmospherics, they give an abstract meditation on childhood, the exchanges between humans, nature, and within nature itself.
Following the radiant first single “Sun” and the intoxicating psychedelia of “Moon’s Mountain”, now hey show a moodier side to the record with the metallic crunching and echoes of “Pool of Wax” and the Silver Apples/kosmische-eqsue “Come About”.

felte · Camila Fuchs – Kids Talk Sun (Singles)

With “Pool Of Wax” this sheer Bjork esque beauty surrounds the delicate vocal attributes, fitting in amongst the obscure yet biting developing electronic elements that are filling the atmosphere. Quite fitting that this track ends the album- a haunting effort!

And then “Come About” stops you in your tracks. Piercing electronica combined with a devilish beat drives this obnoxious and intense exploration.

Camila Fuchs craft complex compositions which will completely compel you, the rhythms, and the emotive clashes of their carefully arranged orchestrations. Each soundscape so plentiful and intricate you’ll continue to be mesmerized by Camila Fuchs appeal.

Camila Fuchs create experimental electronic pop with spectral vocals and avant-garde sensibilities. Currently based in Lisbon, the project was formed by Camila De Laborde (Mexico City) and Daniel Hermann-Collini (Munich) in London in 2012. The band released their debut album ‘Singing From Fixed Rung’in 2016, followed by 2018’s ‘Heart Pressed Between Stones’on ATP Recordings. Met with international praise, Camila Fuchs has performed at numerous well-regarded festivals including Mutek Mexico, Primavera Sound and All Tomorrow’s Parties Festival. They have also supported and shared the stage with Plaid, Actress, Aleksi Perälä, Starcrawler, Charles Hayward, William Basinski, Braids and The Orb.

On ‘Kids Talk Sun’ they have managed to harness a transformational space of exploration and experimentation.  The album was recorded near the sea and wilderness just outside Lisbon, with the band shifting back and forth from the natural world to the studio. 

The result is an ecosystem of complex, ever-evolving sounds working together, with generosity given to the process itself; the biomimicry of plants, insects, the sun and moon, earth, seasons, and cycles gorgeously reimagined in sonic form. There is a sense of multiplicity, a reassurance on change deeply rooted in transformation, on things disintegrating, decomposing, and something new coming to ground us, arms open, and ready for hope.

‘Kids Talk Sun’ will be released on November 13th via Felte. Pre-order links can be found here: https://ffm.to/camilafuchs

‘Kids Talk Sun’ track list:
01. Sun
02. Moon’s Mountain
03. Gloss Trick
04. Roses 
05. Sandstorm
06. Silenced by Hums
07. Come About
08. Mess
09. Pool of Wax


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.