News, Reviews

A.A. Williams Announces “Songs From Isolation” covers album released 12th February via Bella Union -Shares cover of “Lovesong” by The Cure

October 15, 2020
photocredit: Thomas Williams

A.A. Williams Announces “Songs From Isolation” covers album released 12th February via Bella Union

Shares cover of “Lovesong” by The Cure

Following excellent reviews for Forever Blue, her July-released debut album, A.A. Williams today announces news of Songs From Isolation, a 9-track LP of cover versions, released 12th February via Bella Union and available to pre-order here.

The Songs From Isolation project began at the beginning of the UK’s nationwide lockdown in March. A.A. Williams took songs suggested by fans and created a series of videos presenting the tracks with stripped-down instrumentation, recorded and filmed from her home in North London. The album represents a continuation of the project into a full collection of recordings and features cover versions of The Cure, Pixies, Deftones, Nick Cave, Gordon Lightfoot, Radiohead, Nine Inch Nails and more.

To mark the announcement Williams has shared her version of “Lovesong” by The Cure. Of the track Williams says: “Lovesong was one of the first songs suggested by fans for the Songs From Isolation series, and was one of my favourites to rework – the original conjures up such nostalgic feelings, I really wanted to honour as many of elements of it as possible. The lyrics are so beautiful and tender and I wanted to shine a light on them in this version, so I’ve tried to create a delicate backdrop for them out of the melodic elements of The Cure’s original.”

A truly delicate and beautiful rendition of a classic. The re-work is sublime and brings it’s own unique take to this track. The emotional detail that resonates throughout this orchestration- this takes your breath away.

A.A. Williams has also announced news of further live dates which will hopefully take place next year. March sees her on tour in Europe with The Sisters Of Mercy followed by an extensive tour with MONO running through to mid-April. This is followed by some UK headline shows, festival appearances and culminating in a special Songs From Isolation performance in September. Dates/info below:

8th March – NL Den Haag – Paard (with Sisters Of Mercy)

9th March – NL Groningen – De Oosterpoort (with Sisters Of Mercy)

11th March – NL Nijmegen – Doornroosje (with Sisters Of Mercy)

12th March – NL Maastricht – Muziekgieterij (with Sisters Of Mercy)

18th March – NO Oslo – Jakob (with MONO)

19th March – SE Stockholm – Sodra Teatern (with MONO)

20th March – DK Copenhagen – Pumpehuset (with MONO)

21st March – DE Hamburg – Uebel & Gefahrlich (with MONO)

22nd March – DE Berlin – Columbia Theater (with MONO)

23rd March – DE Cologne – Luxor (with MONO)

24th March – CH Zurich – Mascotte (with MONO)

25th March – CH Bulle – Ebolition (with MONO)

26th March – FR Toulouse – Le Rex (with MONO)

27th March – FR Biarritz – Atabal (with MONO)

29the March – PT Porto – Hard Club (with MONO)

30th March – PT Lisbon – LAV (with MONO)

31st March – ES Seville – Custom (with MONO)

1st April  – ES Murcia – Garaj (with MONO)

2nd April – ES Madrid – Cats (with MONO)

3rd April – ES Barcelona – Apolo 2 (with MONO)

5th April – FR Besancon – L’Antonnoir (with MONO)

6th April – FR Paris – Trabendo (with MONO)

7th April – BE Antwerp – Zappa (with MONO)

8th April – FR Lille – Aeronef (with MONO)

10th April – UK London – Lafayette (with MONO)

11th April – UK London – EartH (with MONO)

13th April – UK Glasgow – Oran Mor (with MONO)

14th April – UK Leeds – City Varieties (with MONO)

20th May – UK Manchester – Halle St Peters

21st May – UK Brighton – Unitarian Church

22nd May – UK Bristol – Fyfe Hall

4th June – UK Donington – Download Festival

19th August – UK Bristol – Arctangent Festival

11th September – UK London – Bush Hall (Songs From Isolation show)

1. Lovesong (The Cure)

2. Where Is My Mind (Pixies)

3. If You Could Read My Mind (Gordon Lightfoot)

4. Creep (Radiohead)

5. Nights In White Satin (The Moody Blues)

6. Be Quiet And Drive (Deftones)

7. Every Day Is Exactly The Same (Nine Inch Nails)

8. Into My Arms (Nick Cave)

 9. Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans (Smashing Pumpkins)

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.