Feature, News, Reviews

Trevor Powers Shares ‘Capricorn’ Short Film And Releases Vinyl Edition of New Album

September 28, 2020


Shares New Short Film ‘Capricorn’ – A visual Companion To Recent Surprise Album

‘Capricorn’ vinyl edition now available

 Trevor Powers has shared a short film to accompany his recently shared album, Capricorn’‘Capricorn’ was released digitally and on special limited edition cassette & book in August via Fat Possum, and is now also available on vinyl via Bandcamp.

Co-directed by Collin Fletcher and Jamie Parkhurst, the eponymous film cleverly weaves together soft-spoken vignettes of everyday life into one immersive short film that speaks of humanity through a language of dreams.
Fletcher and Parkhurst expand further: “We wanted to represent the album visually as we hear it – nostalgic vignettes of another time contrasted with the despondent beauty of modern life. The world of Capricorn takes place in a world plagued by pollution and developmental decay. The film is meant to depict a new generation that has grown up acclimated to this bleak environment.”

The new film is vividly spectacular, the visuals reflect with the hypnotic efforts of Capricorn. Loose yourself into this display.

A melodic and tentative collection in its entirety. Embracing the experimental rhythms, immersive electronic elements and Trevors‘ ability to structure each orchestration using organic textures which weave endless emotive appeal throughout each noise. Trevor Powers has crafted his own universe found within Capricorn. A world of weird sounds and sonic auras, from harsh and angular moments to soft, enchanting, delicate and consuming- all of these layers tied together for a journey you need to be a part of.
Speaking on the album, Powers says: “The field recordings are mostly a patchwork of nature: wind, insects, rain, birds, frogs, streams, thunder but with their voices mangled and played with. I fell in love with the idea that everything has a voice. Combining those with piano melodies felt like some kind of Mister Rogers hallucination. I also created some crude digital instruments out of noise pollution, like planes and highways – but the most natural sounds were always the most alien. I wanted to make something that felt as peaceful as it was haunting. Anything that did that and served the music, I made use of.”
‘Capricorn’ paints a world of melancholia and unsettling beauty. Powers’ field recordings, classical motifs, and software sculptures don’t stop time; they examine it like a beetle under a microscope – exposing that the extraordinary is often hidden in plain sight. “From the minute we wake up, we’re in a trance,”he says. “This is music for our digital coma.”

‘Capricorn’ track list:
1. First Rain
2. Earth To Earth
3. The Riverine
4. A New Name
5. Ghosts of Shanghai
6. Blue Savior
7. Pest
8. 2166


You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.