JAMIE LENMAN Releases Brand New Single + Video For ‘Like Me Better’

September 22, 2020

JAMIE LENMAN Releases Brand New Single + Video For ‘Like Me Better’ 

New Mini Album ‘King Of Clubs’ Now Available For Pre-Order, Released on September 25th Through Big Scary Monsters – HERE

JAMIE LENMAN has released a brand new single and video for ‘Like Me Better’, the final track to be taken from his brand new mini album of original material ‘King Of Clubs,’ due out 25th September through Big Scary Monsters.

On ‘Like Me Better’ – “Like Me Better was one of the tracks I added to the album when I decided I wanted to make something with a bit more depth than an EP. I had to go against my instincts and trust the strength of the song in order to not fuss it up or make it more complex than it needed to be – just three chords and a slow beat. I ended up whacking a big riff at the end of it cos I love big riffs but otherwise it’s a very simple tune, and probably better for it.”

“Lyrically it’s about things that repulse you at first but later you come to appreciate. This could apply to food or music or anything that provokes a strong reaction but in this instance it’s definitely about people and physical attraction. When people talk about having a secret crush, it’s usually about someone who looks a bit odd but nevertheless has a certain something about them. The whole record is about complex, contradictory and potentially uncomfortable feelings so it fits right in.”

Also, on the video (featuring Mrs Jamie Lenman, Katie) – “I only had enough budget for one video off this record – the rest were made up of stock footage and group efforts. Handily though, my wife is a model amongst other things so when I sat in on one of her shoots, it looked so excellent I asked her if she wouldn’t mind miming the track a couple of times to camera. She knew it from listening to the rough mixes and luckily the photographer was Scott Chalmers, who films most of my stuff anyway, so he agreed to grab a few takes and it only took about ten minutes.  It’s such a sexy song that I thought people wouldn’t want to be looking at me anyway, so better to have it sung by the sexiest person I know. The big old TV was part of the original setup and later we shot a couple of inserts so I could appear on it but really it’s Mrs Lenman’s video, hers and Scott’s. They organised it, they styled it, it was their project – I’m just grateful they didn’t mind me hijacking the whole thing for my own ends.”

ALL physical copies (LP/CD) of the ‘King Of Clubs’ mini-album will also feature specially recorded acoustic/unplugged versions of each track. Pre-order ‘King Of Clubs’ – HERE

‘King Of Clubs’ track listing:
1. Summer of Discontent (The Future is Dead)
2. Sleep Mission
3. Like Me Better
4. I Don’t Wanna Be Your Friend
5. The Road to Right
6. Kill Me
7. King of Clubs

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.